Jump to content



Photo

IE 8 Printing HTML only... really frustrating

ie

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 09 April 2013 - 13:27

All,

I have a Windows 7 SP1 64-bit machine at one of my locations using Internet Explorer 8. Unfortunately, since we're a car dealer, and the majority of vehicle manufacturers sites are outdated, I can't upgrade to IE9, 10, or even use an alternate browser.

Recently, he just started developing a problem when he prints anything from Internet Explorer. Everything, including Print Preview, just prints out or displays the HTML code of the webpage. I've tried using regsvr32 and reloading mshtml.dll and shdocvw.dll like I've done in the past, but I get the following error messages:

The module "mshtml.dll" (or shdocvw.dll) was loaded but the entry-point DllRegisterServer was not found.
Make sure that "mshtml.dll" (or shdocvw.dll) is a valid DLL or OCX file and then try again.

What am I doing wrong? I've done everything possible short of reimaging this machine and giving up on it.


#2 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 09 April 2013 - 13:39

Have you tried resetting Internet Explorer? Options > Internet Options > Advanced tab there's a Restore advanced settings and a Reset button to completely reset IE.

Might be as simple as that :)

#3 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 13:47

did you try logging on with a different user? (could be profile related).
did you try resetting ie? (internet options, advanced tab, reset button)

I know these may be stupid things, but sometimes in frustration we forget and you didn't mention that you tried doing this.
Do you have any toolbars, perhaps uninstalling them would help
Do you have any programs hooking into IE, perhaps removing them would help. (use hijackthis to help enable/disable these items).

#4 OP +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 09 April 2013 - 15:23

Neobond: I tried that several times.

sc302: Happens under every account. No toolbars, no extra programs.

#5 +primortal

primortal

    Why Does It Hurt!

  • Joined: 18-October 01
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon (929)

Posted 09 April 2013 - 15:30

It's a long shot but have you run the System File Checker (sfc /scannow)?

#6 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 16:26

Are you also having issues with windows update running?

check out post # 14
http://gotvirtual.ne.../#axzz2Pz4buLSK



This guy created an IE repair script
http://iefaq.info/in...=133&artlang=en

#7 OP +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 10 April 2013 - 14:15

SFC returns normal,

No issues with Windows Update. IE Repair script didn't work.

#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 10 April 2013 - 17:16

a long time ago I had an IE fix executable for such issues..... unfortunately I have not been able to find one for newer versions of IE

I make no guarantees about this, if you are pulling all the stops prior to reimaging you can try it.
http://fix-ie-utility.en.softonic.com/



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!