Jump to content



Photo

How is my (future) rig looking?

build workstation rig

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.4.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 April 2013 - 19:13

I just wanted to make sure my future rig is alright, it's my first PC that's not store bought :blush:

I'll be mainly using it for gaming, but I will occasionally do work on it.

PCPartPicker part list: http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/QsnG
Price breakdown by merchant: http://uk.pcpartpick...nG/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://uk.pcpartpick...snG/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (£167.99 @ Aria PC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£24.99 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard (£119.98 @ Dabs)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory (£87.99 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (£88.29 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£64.94 @ CCL Computers)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card (£315.93 @ Amazon UK)
Case: NZXT Phantom (Black) ATX Full Tower Case (£109.99 @ Ebuyer)
Power Supply: Corsair Enthusiast 650W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply (£84.54 @ Dabs)
Optical Drive: Asus BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer (£46.31 @ Aria PC)
Other: Microsoft Windows 8 64 bit OEM (£69.00)

Total: £1179.95

I'll be using two Dell Ultrasharp U2412Ms with it.


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 14 April 2013 - 19:15

I'd probably have gone for a higher powered PSU for some headroom

#3 +BoneyardBrew

BoneyardBrew

    Photoshop Junkie

  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 14 April 2013 - 19:17

Looks great to me! After a quick inspection I don't think I would change anything other than possibly bumping the SSD up to a 256GB model, although that shift would be largely dependent on whether you'd be putting games on it or not. You can only fit so many on a 128GB drive (I say this based on experience :p).

#4 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 14 April 2013 - 19:21

Your build looks good, but I always like the Asus motherboards now.
I would also suggest investing into this cpu cooler instead:
http://uk.pcpartpick...pu-cooler-nhd14

It cost more and is well worth it/has great ratings, but best of all it has the performance

Oh and go for Windows 7

7970s: http://www.tomshardw...eview,3186.html

#5 Alera

Alera

    The Shido

  • Joined: 09-April 10
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro (Give me Start Menu or give me death!)

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:24

I'd probably have gone for a higher powered PSU for some headroom


The Corsair 2013 GS 700W Power Supplies are quite nice, around the same price as the TX650. A bit more wiggle room for power, easily enough for 2 graphics cards.

#6 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Krikkit
  • OS: VTOS 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:33

I'd probably have gone for a higher powered PSU for some headroom

No reason whatsoever. 650W can sustain 7970 Crossfire, so there's your headroom. Corsair always underrates their mid and top tier and TX is a serious unit in itself.

#7 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:34

I'd highly highly recommend a modular PSU. You'll thank yourself for saving the nightmare that is left over wires.

And unless you plan on overclocking quite a bit, don't bother with a CPU cooler. If you do want one, I'd recommend a Corsair Hydro since it will make your rig much quieter.

#8 OP Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.4.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:45

So i've ordered all the parts, just waiting for my case to arrive. I decided to go for a better PSU in the end (Corsair TX750M).

Amazon Prime has been awesome, I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who orders online.

#9 +fusi0n

fusi0n

    The Crazy One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:51

Looks pretty good to me :D

#10 OP Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.4.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 25 April 2013 - 21:13

Jan's Professionalphotography:

Posted Image

:p

#11 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Krikkit
  • OS: VTOS 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 26 April 2013 - 06:03

For that same money you could have chosen HX650 instead - more "modular" and also actually better (Seasonic vs CWT), with several percent higher efficiency. But well - "moar horsepwrrr" it is then.


<-- Chairman and the only member of Quality Not Overkill PSU committee

#12 OP Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.4.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:15

So i've built it now (After many hours of blood, sweat and tears), I even made two small blood sacrifices to the PC Gods.
.
Only problem is though that my 7970 isn't being detected by Windows? Not really sure what to do.

#13 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:29

So i've built it now (After many hours of blood, sweat and tears), I even made two small blood sacrifices to the PC Gods.
.
Only problem is though that my 7970 isn't being detected by Windows? Not really sure what to do.


http://www.techpower...ad.php?t=159880

#14 OP Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.4.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 April 2013 - 21:28

http://www.techpower...ad.php?t=159880


I've ran them and it still doesn't work. My monitor doesn't even get an image from the graphics card when connected through DVI

#15 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 29 April 2013 - 11:24

I've ran them and it still doesn't work. My monitor doesn't even get an image from the graphics card when connected through DVI

Probably not seated right...



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!