Jump to content



Photo

Ajax loading spinner stuck on


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 AmazingRando

AmazingRando

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-May 03

Posted 18 April 2013 - 00:15

Windows 8
Google Chrome

Deleted anything neowin from history.
Dumped the cache
Deleted all neowin cookies.

Open up again, and the damn 4 square ajax loading spinner stays on nearly every page.


#2 amnesiality

amnesiality

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-November 10

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:39

Windows 8
Google Chrome

Deleted anything neowin from history.
Dumped the cache
Deleted all neowin cookies.

Open up again, and the damn 4 square ajax loading spinner stays on nearly every page.


I have the exact same problem. It's annoying as hell!

#3 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    Neowinian Antique

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:45

same problem here too. :/

#4 spacer

spacer

    I'm awesome

  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 23 April 2013 - 19:41

I was just about to post this exact same issue. It's been happening on all of my machines (all Windows 7, viewing the site with Chrome) for weeks now. It's supremely annoying.

#5 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 23 April 2013 - 19:44

Same problem here, extremely annoying.

#6 MFH

MFH

    RAII fanatic

  • Joined: 24-June 10

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:19

I have this problem on all my systems (Win7 + IE10; Surface RT). Can't comment on news anymore...

#7 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:25

Is it just the main page or forums too?

#8 Cheatyface

Cheatyface

    Did I cheat? No. ....Yes.

  • Joined: 26-January 07
  • Location: In a chair

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:28

Is it just the main page or forums too?


Front page and news articles from the front page, for me.

#9 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:28

-REDACTED-

#10 MFH

MFH

    RAII fanatic

  • Joined: 24-June 10

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:30

As my post here came through it seems like it's currently limited to the front page...

#11 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:30

Just like to say it's been like this for a long time for me.

Site still works fine. Just always has the loading square in the top right

#12 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 23 April 2013 - 23:56

If I had to guess, its related to the notifications. Will have another dev look at it in the morning.

#13 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:33

If I had to guess, its related to the notifications. Will have another dev look at it in the morning.


If you mean PM notifications, that's working. The comments, however, are not working for me either in IE10 in addition to the bug I filed earlier.

#14 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:40

Just like to say it's been like this for a long time for me.

Site still works fine. Just always has the loading square in the top right


This is the behavior as well on Firefox/Windows 7 and Safari on Mac OS X. Haven't noticed it in iOS. The spinner sometimes seems to get stuck spinning (although I'm not always sure if it is just getting some content somewhere very slowly) but everything still seems to work OK. I haven't had issues where I am unable to respond to comments due to it (I think)...

#15 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:46

It shows when the minispy is updating, or when you are saving a post in the forums.. I'm on Chrome Beta/Windows 8 and it doesn't stick for me, but we'll get Redmak to take a look.

Out of curiosity, are you using AdBlock on Neowin? because I believe that blocks certain elements of the minispy, which we can't do anything about anyway..



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!