Jump to content



Photo

Ads on front page


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Ph1b3r0pt1c

Ph1b3r0pt1c

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-September 12
  • Location: Sebree, Kentucky
  • OS: Debian, Windows 7, Server 2012

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:24

I am glad they are non-intrusive.

neowin.jpg


#2 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:27

Subscribe (Y)

#3 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:29

Subscribe (Y)

Ads shouldn't take up over half the screen. If you don't want people to adblock, don't have intrusive ads like that.

#4 Azies

Azies

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-January 10

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:30

If the ads are so in the way that it makes the website not appear properly, I think it's time for an Adblock List Addition.

#5 COKid

COKid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-April 10
  • Location: Loveland, CO

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:31

I see you use IE. Consider this:

http://www.iegallery...protectionlists

I have both Fanboy TPLs installed. Not sure I need both, but the end result is no ads. (Y)

#6 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:33

This is just something simple an admin can fix I'm sure :).

Also, just making sure it's not a formatting issue on the page your end, does it also do the same in another browser?

#7 OP Ph1b3r0pt1c

Ph1b3r0pt1c

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-September 12
  • Location: Sebree, Kentucky
  • OS: Debian, Windows 7, Server 2012

Posted 21 April 2013 - 18:54

Yes, it does it in chrome, firefox, ie, opera

#8 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 21 April 2013 - 19:09

They should never stack like that. This is the first time anyone has reported it doing so.

Also guests only see those large ads. Everyone else sees shorter (single) leaderboard ads.

#9 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 21 April 2013 - 19:11

They should never stack like that. This is the first time anyone has reported it doing so.

Also guests only see those large ads. Everyone else sees shorter (single) leaderboard ads.


Yes notice he wasn't logged in at the time, there is obviously a glitch there though with the stacking

#10 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 May 2013 - 00:23

They should never stack like that. This is the first time anyone has reported it doing so.

Also guests only see those large ads. Everyone else sees shorter (single) leaderboard ads.

Not true. I've been wanting to post these here for some time now (too lazy to sync screenshots over from iPad). This happens routinely when I open front page from google reader (has been going on for 3-4 weeks).

(Ugh...attachments are screwed up in IE10, I am not sure how many times it's going to show up)

Attached Images

  • photo 1.PNG
  • photo 2.PNG


#11 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:37

I have emailed our advertiser about this, this should not be happening.

That's a serious turn off for guests :/

#12 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:59

I've been asked by one advertiser to see if people who experience this can right click and "view source" and then save it in a .txt file, or firebug screenshot. You can mail or PM me it, mail is neobond AT neowin.net

Thanks in advance.

#13 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 14 May 2013 - 02:03

What ads? ;)

#14 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 15 May 2013 - 06:53

I've been told that this issue has been resolved :)

#15 _Heavens

_Heavens

    YOLO Gangsta Prinzes

  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:20

I only see a banner :D