Photo

So I'm getting ready to upgrade.. Any thoughts?

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Razorwing

Razorwing

Who You Gonna Call?

• Phone: HTC One

Posted 24 April 2013 - 00:39

So I brought my Canon T1i with (18-55) a long time ago now, along with a Canon EF 50 f/1.8 II. I'm in the Digital Video Production program, and my program is moving onto DSLRs instead of videocameras. I tried using the T1i for video, it's good.. but it's still shooting at 720p and it's pretty much done for that era. I need a new DSLR.

Remember, I'm a film student and money is always and will be a factor. So what I am thinking of getting is the a decent lens and the 5D MKII, or spending 4k on a 5D MKIII with the Kit lens. What do you guys think? Of course, spending less is the best, but I want something to last me quite a while, so I can do photo and video for clients. Any other suggestions would also be good.

Thanks guys.

#2 Skiver

Skiver

Neowinian Senior

• Tech Issues Solved: 4

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:51

From my very little experience, taking photographer ability out of the picture I would say its the piece of glass on the end of the camera that makes the difference. I honestly believe that a good photographer will be able to produce the same picture regardless of camera however lens would play a bigger part in the IQ (all be it still small).

I guess the question is - will the kits lens actually be able to do what you want?

#3 crazzy88ss

crazzy88ss

Neowinian Senior

Posted 24 April 2013 - 16:46

5D MKII and spend the difference from the MKIII on decent lenses. Kit lenses are usually crap in the long run.

#4 OP Razorwing

Razorwing

Who You Gonna Call?

Posted 24 April 2013 - 21:19

But isn't the MK3 better for video? It's a body I can use for a long time and as for lenses, I know the old 18-55 won't work but the Kit Lens that comes with the 5D MK3 should suffice for now. Plus I can rent/borrow out various lenses from the school next year.

#5 Kondrath