Jump to content



Photo

cannot install fedora 18 on vmware 9

vmware linux

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 krishna@9-zone

krishna@9-zone

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-December 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8 , Redhat

Posted 02 May 2013 - 14:13

hi all
this is my first post on fedora............. infact I just planned to move to fedora.........
Just downloaded fedora 18 tried installing on VMware workstation..........nothing shows up but a blue wall help me


#2 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 02 May 2013 - 14:31

You are not providing very much information for us to go on. A basic "it doesn't work" comment isn't a diagnostic message, method, or other helpful starting point. Try to follow the procedure detailed in this VMware KB article describing exactly how to install Fedora 16. If the installation fails using that procedure at least report where it failed. Your specific version of VMware might be helpful too.

#3 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 02 May 2013 - 15:53

what graphics card do you have?

#4 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 02 May 2013 - 15:58

what graphics card do you have?


if you are using VMware, why does that matter? the client OS wouldn't know what the host card was

#5 corrosive23

corrosive23

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-February 02
  • Location: Tucson, AZ
  • OS: Windows 8.1 on Desktop, Xubuntu 13.10 on Laptop
  • Phone: Galaxy Note III

Posted 02 May 2013 - 16:20

You need to upgrade VMware to 9.02 to install fedora 18.

#6 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 02 May 2013 - 20:55

if you are using VMware, why does that matter? the client OS wouldn't know what the host card was


never noticed he said in a VM lol my bad

#7 OP krishna@9-zone

krishna@9-zone

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-December 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8 , Redhat

Posted 03 May 2013 - 12:46

You are not providing very much information for us to go on. A basic "it doesn't work" comment isn't a diagnostic message, method, or other helpful starting point. Try to follow the procedure detailed in this VMware KB article describing exactly how to install Fedora 16. If the installation fails using that procedure at least report where it failed. Your specific version of VMware might be helpful too.

using vmware workstation 9

what graphics card do you have?

AMD-Radeon-HD-7670M

any ways thx all for the replies.....got my issue resolved by disabling the "accelerate 3d graphics" in vmware

#8 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 03 May 2013 - 12:52

Awesome glad its fixed :)