Jump to content



Photo

play lists


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,046 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:04

Hi,


Ive decided to create playlists for my music collection on my SD card which i play in my car. ive attempted to do this with WMP, but when i do as it says, i .e. drag and drop the item into the playlist, it doesn't like it.

Where am i going wrong??


#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,826 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:20

I think you need to be a bit more specific than, "it doesn't like it." What does it do? Does it give you an error message? Does it just sit there pretending that you didn't ask it to do anything? Where are you dragging the song from, within the library or are you dragging the files outside of WMP and dropping them in to the playlist?

Have you tried using a different media player to see if they have any issues?

EDIT: Also, which version of WMP are you using? What is your OS?

#3 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,046 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:31

Sorry, for some reason my pic didnt attach. Thats why i was blasé with the description. Basically I receieve the No entry sign!

Attached Images

  • Untitled.png


#4 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,826 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 10:00

Ah, what is your J drive? That looks like an external device to me which may explain it. Perhaps it won't let you drag music from the player and put it in to a playlist that would be located on the computer? Has it worked in the past?

I tried creating a playlist and dragging music that was located on my laptop in to the new playlist and it seemed to work without an issue.

EDIT: Yup, that seems to be it. I just tried creating another playlist and dragging music from my phone to the list and I received the same error.

#5 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,046 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:12

ye its just a 32GB SD card in my internal Laptop slot. So i take it there would be no way around this??

#6 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,826 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:16

I don't use WMP (that's probably the first time that I've opened it up in several years) so I'm not sure about a workaround. Have you tried putting the playlist on to the SD card first and then dragging and dropping?

#7 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,046 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:20

ye :-( what do u use?

#8 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,826 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:22

Well my setup is completely different. I normally use a Mac which allows be to just drag and drop music on to my S3. I've also done the same with my work machine, but I've never tried putting a playlist on. I use DoubleTwist which allows me to create playlists from my phone.

#9 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • 34,388 posts
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:38

Winamp is more than happy to do this :)

#10 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,046 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 13 May 2013 - 15:50

thanks to both of you for help. will try winamp