Jump to content



Photo

Upgrading asystem around old CPU, How old is too old?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 grey-shift

grey-shift

    Deterrent

  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:43

Hello Everyone,

 

Way back in 2009, I was greatly assisted by neowin and built my first rig. A lot has happened since then, and now I would like to get up to speed by making a few key upgrades, my only question is though if I can hang on to my old cpu and mobo, upgrade the gpu, ram (and then power supply as well) will I see better performance, or inevitably, will the old CPU be a drain on my rig?

 

So If I were to hold on to this CPU

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103696

 

And this Mobo

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131398

 

And then upgrade my old GPU to this (havent decided, just a popular one for example)

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814202025

 

and swap out the old ram for this

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820144617

 

Do you guys see any problem with this plan of attack? Is the CPU too old to see a benifit from the upgrade of the other parts? Are there massive compadability issues I have overlooked?

 

Thank you so much for your time and assistance!

 

 



Best Answer tsupersonic , 19 June 2013 - 03:47

Depending on what graphics card you have, you may see some differences. If your graphics card is from 2009, you'll probably see an improvement, but your CPU will ultimately hold you back. But, yeah all those parts are compatible. 

Go to the full post



#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:46

First glance, I can't see a problem, as the mobo and cpu are untouched, all you'll need are drivers for the graphics card, (those should be with the card)

The ram shouldn't be a problem neither.....

 

(but I would wait for a more informed user to respond as I have been known to be wrong from time to time)



#3 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:47   Best Answer

Depending on what graphics card you have, you may see some differences. If your graphics card is from 2009, you'll probably see an improvement, but your CPU will ultimately hold you back. But, yeah all those parts are compatible. 



#4 OP grey-shift

grey-shift

    Deterrent

  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:59

Another side of the issue is I havent used the machine since late 2011. I left the country and allowed my family to use the rig and when i got back to the states it was riddled with viruses. I have been using my laptop ever since i got back. So as far as what performance was like back then, I remember playing deus ex human revolution and it struggled quite a bit. I am really starting to consider just starting from scratch, but the minor parts really start to add up...hmmm



#5 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 19 June 2013 - 04:03

Mine's going to virtually cost me over £2000 (well over $3100 US) and that's using some of the parts in the maching I'm using right now (ram and hard drives mostly, everything else is far too old)

To address the virus issue, use kaspersky rootkit remover, malwarebytes, spybot search and destroy and a reputable internet security suite and you should be able to get that machine to some degree, back to it's former glory :)



#6 OP grey-shift

grey-shift

    Deterrent

  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 19 June 2013 - 04:13

I never had any problems with that, but you leave town for a few months, mom starts checking her old people chain e-mails and bang, it's a paper weight. I would have just re-installed the operating system but that is another long story I don't want to get into :)

 

Either way I think I have decided to fix this rig, get it operational, and give it to my family to lovingly destroy till the end of time. I am going to move on and maybe start putting together a 4th gen i5 based rig for the future :) I am seeing a lot of deals I missed before and it is looking quite doable :) Thanks for your input guys!



#7 +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.9 Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 21 June 2013 - 07:34

An upgrade process I often do is buy a reasonable motherboard but then buy lower spec stuff around it so that you have scope to upgrade down the line. So in the case of my last upgrade I bought the motherboard and the RAM (as RAM seems cheap at the moment) but then only bought a $100 Core i5 CPU - my intention being a few months down the line, when my cash flow was recovered, I could splash out on a decent Core i7 or similar. Then you can also sell the old CPU to put towards the new CPU purchase. 

 

Done this a few times now and always been able to breathe new life into the system with a CPU upgrade later on down the line!