Jump to content



Photo

Login problems .


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 niks2456

niks2456

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-January 13

Posted 25 June 2013 - 15:03

When I login from the top " Login " button , it still displays "Login" and "Register" buttons at the top . But when I go to www.neowin.net/forum I see my profile pic . I am not able to comment on front blog articles . This happend only after the forum upgrade .




#2 iron2000

iron2000

    Mecha-mad

  • Joined: 14-November 02

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:51

Having the same problem here too.

The login logs in to the forum only, not including the front page.

 

Have yet to check on the other PC which is already logged in before the upgrade.



#3 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 26 June 2013 - 07:35

I can't reproduce this, what browser and did you try clearing your browser cache? You can also try deleting any cookies with "neowin" mentioned, most modern browsers allow this.

 

If in doubt you could try clearing everything except saved passwords, I read the other day that ccleaner fixed some issues other people were having (not the browser delete history option).



#4 OP niks2456

niks2456

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-January 13

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:51

Tried on Chrome 27 and Firefox 22 . I cleared the all history ( cache , cookies etc ) and tried again . Still doesn't work .



#5 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:59

NoScript, adblock filters? There might be an extension blocking something because this seems like an isolated issue.



#6 OP niks2456

niks2456

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-January 13

Posted 26 June 2013 - 11:16

Disabled adblock , still doesn't work . Not using NoScript .


Even the " Accept third party cookies" is enabled .



#7 iron2000

iron2000

    Mecha-mad

  • Joined: 14-November 02

Posted 27 June 2013 - 05:07

I think I discovered the problem.

 

I sign in to the news page (and forums) fine if 'remember me' is checked.

If not checked I sign in to forums only.



#8 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 06:41

I think I discovered the problem.
 
I sign in to the news page (and forums) fine if 'remember me' is checked.
If not checked I sign in to forums only.


Confirmed (nice catch :) ). I will look into this.



#9 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:25

This should be fixed



#10 DaveBG

DaveBG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-February 06
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:28

I have it checked "remember me" and still cannot login



#11 Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 10 TP | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:34

Have the same problem. Just did a refresh of Win 8 (hoping it'll allow me to install 8.1) and I'm trying to login w/ IE 10 Desktop. It works for the forums, it doesn't for the front page.

I have cleared everything.



#12 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:37

How about now?



#13 +DonC

DonC

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-August 07
  • Location: England

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:38

Using IE10 (Windows 7 and 8) I can log in but I don't appear to be logged in on the front page or the news items.  I get adverts and my user menu doesn't appear at the top right.

 

When I go to the forums I appear logged in fine.

 

This issue does not happen when using Chrome 24.



#14 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, West Midlands

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:38

At the risk of asking a silly question...

Are you guys sure you haven't been banned or restricted from FPN?



#15 +DonC

DonC

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-August 07
  • Location: England

Posted 27 June 2013 - 09:41

At the risk of asking a silly question...

Are you guys sure you haven't been banned or restricted from FPN?

 

I have incriminating evidence on Neobond so I don't think that's likely.