Jump to content



Photo

Network Share Script


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:30

hey guys

 

our IT department have sent us a batch file to run to set up a drive and map it

 

this is the code

@echo off 
set /P id=Please enter your user name: 
echo Thanks. 
echo In a few seconds you will need to enter your username and password again. 
echo Please include FPA\ at the beginning of your username...
net use f: \\***.***.***.***\home$\%id%
echo press enter to exit

I understand it setting the id for the share to be added but i dont understand what adding the FPA\username is doing

 

can you enlighten me, the script seems to work for some but not others




#2 Daedroth

Daedroth

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 11
  • Location: UK

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:39

FPA/username might well be promoting for a domain username. Does the share you're mapping to require authentication to access? Or are only certain people allowed access?



#3 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:17

yeah it will ask for a password

 

so that line is asking for the username and then the password for the share then?



#4 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:21

It is.

 

I assume your company is named FPA or something along those lines.

 

It's just to authenticate you with the domain :)



#5 Daedroth

Daedroth

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 11
  • Location: UK

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:23

yeah it will ask for a password

 

so that line is asking for the username and then the password for the share then?

Then I assume your domain name is FPA.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:11

Why should they need to do this - if their machine is part of the domain, then there would be not reason to auth via this method.

 

All you should have to do is access the share name.

 

Clearly something is odd here...  There should normally be no need for such a script.



#7 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:49

yeah i am not sure why it works like that i am just a Peon here although a peon that seems to be able to fix issues quicker than IT can

 

thanks for the help guys

 

Its accessing through citrix if that helps budman



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:51

Citrix is not part of the domain?  Again failed way of doing it!  Even when you use citrix you should be logging in with your domain creds and therefore be able to auth to any share you have permissions too without issue and no need to send creds again.  To access a share all you should have to do is

 

\\hostnameorIPorFQDN\sharename

 

And you should be good..

 

And you using IP to access the share?  So you don't even have name resolution working?  WTF kind of place is this?



#9 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 28 June 2013 - 14:45

lol dont shoot me :p

 

I am just the idiot that picks up the issues people are having and to work out how and whats causinf them

 

thanks for your help



#10 StrikedOut

StrikedOut

    Outside the box

  • Joined: 09-December 08
  • Location: Southampton

Posted 28 June 2013 - 15:07

Surely it should be setup to run as part of a GP and then either assigned to an OU or security group. This way it will automatically map when the user logs on.

 

Hell, most of my users don't know their username, they just switch on the machine and type their password!

 

Looking at it, it looks like its a user folder that can be mapped in Active Directory.

 

Capture.JPG

 

No reason for Citix not to be part of the domain, only increases workload and reduces security.



#11 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 June 2013 - 17:15

Is that batch file run automatically when the user logs in or do you have to launch it explicitly? When I was in college I worked for my university's IT department, and they did something very similar with their XP and Vista images. There was a VB script that ran automatically on startup to map printers, map network shares, and try to activate the VPN if the staff member was off-campus. It was more complex than the script you posted: it would automatically retrieve the user's username and authenticate everything with their domain credentials. It was also one of those "black magic" things that as far as I could tell no one in the department really understood. It "just worked" - most of the time. Fortunately we started doing things the right way and got rid of the script when we deployed Windows 7. In short, I agree with BudMan: something is not configured properly.



#12 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 28 June 2013 - 18:28

Yeah FPA or whatever is your domain.



#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 June 2013 - 19:52

Not wanting to shoot you, an for sure not blaming you for the mess your having to deal with.

 

but there is not much too that script

 

Its a simple net use

 

so for example

 

C:\>net use * \\10.56.132.54\ipc$
Drive Z: is now connected to \\10.56.132.54\ipc$.

The command completed successfully.

 

I connected to the ipc$ share without having to auth, because I am already logged into the domain.  If the creds sent automatically do not work then you will get prompted.

 

If you get prompted when you attempt to use net use, then the creds your logged into the machine with do not have permissions.  So you need to send different creds.

 

Now where you can run into issues with this is - you can only be authed to a server with 1 username and password.  So if you were allowed to access anything on that server as your logged in username or anonymously..  You would then not be able to auth via some other account name and password be it local to where you trying to access or a domain creds, etc..

 

What might help us troubleshoot is output of just running command directly

 

net use f: \\***.***.***.***\home$\%id%

 

with replacing %ID% with your username, like so

 

net use f: \\***.***.***.***\home$\budman

 

Do you get prompted - if so put in your password, what does it say.. What errror or error number?

 

putting in fpa\budman would not be valid in the above context.. that would be like access directory home$\fpa\budman

 

Which I guess could be valid - but if that is the case.. Maybe there is no domain involved?  How about output of net view \\ipaddressorhostname\home$

 

the $ on the end tells us its a HIDDEN share.. like admin$ or IPC$, etc.

 

What do you get if you just do net view \\ipaddress you snipped out.. BTW if your using private IPs 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x or 172.16-31.x.x there is little point in hiding those..

 

The other problem I see with that command is your trying to map a drive letter to a folder under a share??

 

net use f: \\***.***.***.***\home$\%id%

 

Where home$ is the share and %ID% is some directory..  You don't do that - you map to a share directly, not to a sub folder.  So that could be a problem for sure!

 

So normally you would use

 

net use f: \\***.***.***.***\%id%

 

Where there is share with your username on it.