Jump to content



Photo

BSOD Windows 7 When gaming only please Help

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#16 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 16 September 2013 - 17:30

I have and it tells me its the Hal.dll driver / caused by address hal.dll+12a3b 

 

But theirs no clear cut answer on what this error is ? 

 

I would run a memory test like someone else said. Ha.dll is a hardware issue.  Any additions/changes to hardware recently?  Any drivers updated at the same time this issue started?  Did you monitor your temps under heavy load?




#17 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 16 September 2013 - 20:54

just curious, run CPU-Z, Ill bet your voltage is off.

thats my guess too.

 

maybe up the voltage and see what happens.



#18 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 19 September 2013 - 15:46

It was a bad stick of memory boys

 

Doesn't anyone know how to see how whats the cap on the amount of ram speed my mother board can handle ?  



#19 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 September 2013 - 15:49

It was rather obviously memory having read this O.o

 

Memtest is ALWAYS the first step. I don't care if your computer is on fire, the first check is always memory..

 

Memory is one of the few things that fails like this..



#20 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 19 September 2013 - 15:55

 Im thinking about getting this to replace what i had but im not sure if my mother board can use the 2000  http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820226196

 

How can i see ??



#21 jwoodfin09

jwoodfin09

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-February 10

Posted 19 September 2013 - 16:01   Best Answer

 Im thinking about getting this to replace what i had but im not sure if my mother board can use the 2000  http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820226196

 

How can i see ??

use http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner to identify the type of memory your system needs of course make sure you run it on the system youre upgrading



#22 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 27 September 2013 - 20:25

My computer is doing the same thing I guess it wasnt the ram anyone have the next step in solving this ?????????



#23 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 27 September 2013 - 20:46

Could this be a power supply issue and how would I know ?



#24 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 27 September 2013 - 20:50

well if it is a power supply issue it would be because you are over loading it.  Best bet would be to check your power requirements or use a power supply calc and go one size bigger than recommended to be safe and allow for growth. 

 

Best bet would be to take your dump file and put it into this:

http://www.osronline...fm?name=analyze

 

paste the results.  We can help you better that way....or we can guess every post you make.



#25 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 28 September 2013 - 15:04

==================================================
Dump File         : 092813-42479-01.dmp
Crash Time        : 9/28/2013 10:35:19 AM
Bug Check String  : 
Bug Check Code    : 0x00000124
Parameter 1       : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2       : fffffa80`07a56028
Parameter 3       : 00000000`b65ac000
Parameter 4       : 00000000`00000135
Caused By Driver  : hal.dll
Caused By Address : hal.dll+12a3b
File Description  : 
Product Name      : 
Company           : 
File Version      : 
Processor         : x64
Crash Address     : ntoskrnl.exe+75b80
Stack Address 1   : 
Stack Address 2   : 
Stack Address 3   : 
Computer Name     : 
Full Path         : C:\Windows\Minidump\092813-42479-01.dmp
Processors Count  : 6
Major Version     : 15
Minor Version     : 7601
Dump File Size    : 287,216
Dump File Time    : 9/28/2013 10:38:08 AM
==================================================
 
 
This is the BSOD report please help 


#26 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 28 September 2013 - 15:13

It is very possible that this is a heat related issue what are your system temps. Use a utility like speed fan to get temps. Have it record to a file to get the last temp before failure.

#27 Farchord

Farchord

    Life is but a sum of your achievements

  • Joined: 06-November 01
  • Location: Shawinigan, Quebec, Canada
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 September 2013 - 15:21

If it only happens under heavy loads, I'd bet it's the PSU (Power supply Unit).



#28 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 28 September 2013 - 15:27

It's there anyway to test this besides just buying a new one ?



#29 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 28 September 2013 - 15:48

No you would need to buy another. Get the temp logs and we will go from there.

#30 OP GamerGuy88

GamerGuy88

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-September 13

Posted 28 September 2013 - 17:59

If this helps at all I went back to my old 2 sticks of 4gb ram set up and it doesn't crash It seems like more ram is part of it 

 

Also if i just try 1 8gb stick of the new ram it still crashes ??





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!