Jump to content



Photo

Monster 802.11AC routers, Upgrade time?

netgear linksys asus r7000 ea6900 ac68u

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

Poll: Better AC Routers are here

Is it time to upgrade your network?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#16 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 02 October 2013 - 02:33

do these actually route at 1Gbps?




#17 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 02 October 2013 - 03:03

Considering the whole 802.11 N draft debacle, no.

 

Happy to wait for A) a standard! B) more devices to come out and C) prices to drop to a reasonable level.



#18 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 02 October 2013 - 04:15

do these actually route at 1Gbps?

I doubt it, but it also wouldn't surprise me if they're close.

That said, if your internet connection can stress a 1Gbps router, then you won't really notice a difference between 900Mbps or 1Gbps.

#19 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 02 October 2013 - 07:08

I think she was just saying it would make for a good setup.

I currently run pf with a WAP4410N and may upgrade to AC when they release a AP only.


Rereading I think you're probably right. Anyone have a suggestion for an AP that would work with pfSense set up?

#20 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 02 October 2013 - 07:11

I have the AirPort Extreme AC - it really does make a difference when transferring files over the network!

As for recommendations - avoid Linksys until they get rid of their god awful cloud software.

#21 OP Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 15 October 2013 - 16:41

do these actually route at 1Gbps?

 

Apparently so:

 

netgear_r7000_up-n-dn.jpg

 

http://www.smallnetb...t-ac68u?start=1



#22 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 15 October 2013 - 18:17

Rereading I think you're probably right. Anyone have a suggestion for an AP that would work with pfSense set up?

 

Any AP or wireless router used as an AP would work just fine with pfsense - what routes or nats your traffic to the public internet has nothing to do with an AP bridging a wireless network to a wired one..

 

Now the only thing that might come into play when picking an AP would be if your wanting to run vlans for say a guest network.  Then yes your AP would need to support vlans - many of them do not.



#23 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:07

My routers WAN to LAN throughput bottleneck is shaving 1~Mb/s off my connection speed, other than that it runs nicely although I could do with extra distance on 2.4GHz. I'll probably upgrade to the RT-AC68U once there is a stable Tomato port for it.



#24 CrashGordon

CrashGordon

    The Perfect Threesome: Lime, Salt & Tequila

  • Joined: 31-January 04
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Phone: Jackson JS3 Kelly Bird IV through a Fender Rumble 150. Can ya hear me now?

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:11

My Netgear WNDR3700v1 is still fine for my needs at home. Nice to see external antennas on both and they're detachable too. (Y)



#25 nvllsvm

nvllsvm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-July 05
  • OS: Arch Linux
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:41

Already have an RT-AC66R. Since I make heavy use of wireless file transfers, my next phone must have 802.11ac.



#26 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:16

My next device must have 802.11ac.

 

Fixed  :D I think a lot of electronics manufacturers bar Apple drag their heels when it comes to updating on board wireless cards/chipsets in newer devices. I came across an i5 notebook from ASUS which was released last year with a N-100 card limited to 150Mbps speeds and no 5GHz capability.