Jump to content



Photo

NAS for RAID5: DS413 or TS-421?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 September 2013 - 14:54

Hello :)

 

Im looking for a 4 disk NAS server. Ive looked at two models: Synology DiskStation DS413 (419 €) and QNAP TS-421 (479 €)

 

Ill use it as "My Documents, Deskop, etc" drive (My user will mount the network drive and get its My Documents, Desktop, etc folder from there).

 

What are your recommendations?

 

Thank you

 

 

 




#2 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 30 September 2013 - 14:58

Synology. I have a Synology DS213 (2 bay), and it is awesome for storing documents, backups, streaming to my 360. Great community support, and software is extremely easy to use (although QNAP is decent too)



#3 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:06

Both are really decent, my friend has a Q-Nap and likes it, I almost got a Synology DS413j (before getting an HP Microserver for its added functionality and better price)

 

Either is a great choice, personally I'd go for the Synology, as its just for Docs storage etc... you probably don't need the extra CPU power in the Qnap or the dual Nic's etc.. which is where the price difference is.



#4 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:19

Both are really decent, my friend has a Q-Nap and likes it, I almost got a Synology DS413j (before getting an HP Microserver for its added functionality and better price)

 

Either is a great choice, personally I'd go for the Synology, as its just for Docs storage etc... you probably don't need the extra CPU power in the Qnap or the dual Nic's etc.. which is where the price difference is.

Well for the few extra bucks (60€) is the extra CPU power and dual NICs worth it?

 

Now that you mention it, at my workplace we have a Q-NAP as well (admind by me) and for the most part, Im pretty happy with it. I just made a VPN server with it as well and it works pretty good :)

 

Im happy with a Q-NAP at my office but Ive heard a lot of good things about Synology.

 

Also, viewing other models, should I go with ARM or x86?



#5 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:44

Well for the few extra bucks (60€) is the extra CPU power and dual NICs worth it?

 

Now that you mention it, at my workplace we have a Q-NAP as well (admind by me) and for the most part, Im pretty happy with it. I just made a VPN server with it as well and it works pretty good :)

 

Im happy with a Q-NAP at my office but Ive heard a lot of good things about Synology.

 

Also, viewing other models, should I go with ARM or x86?

Well if you've got the budget to spend then go for it, extra power will probably be useful in the long run.

x86 is one of the other reasons I didn't get either NAS and got the server, cause I can just install whatever programs or services I want...not limited by what can run on ARM in a NAS's proprietary OS.



#6 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:49

Well if you've got the budget to spend then go for it, extra power will probably be useful in the long run.

x86 is one of the other reasons I didn;t get either NAS and got the server cause I can just install whatever programs or services I want...not limited by what can run on ARM in a NAS's proprietary OS.

Well the server in your sig, is at 192,40 €....but at that price I imagine it is a 2bay and I at least need a 4bay for my RAID5.



#7 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:51

Not sure about qnap devices, but the DiskStation DS413 has iscsi support, so you could simply add a drive to your PC rather then befuggling around with network shares.



#8 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 September 2013 - 15:58

Not sure about qnap devices, but the DiskStation DS413 has iscsi support, so you could simply add a drive to your PC rather then befuggling around with network shares.

QNAP also has iSCSI. Tried to do it here at work but could not get it to work. Ill problably make it iSCSI on my home though since Ive heard the performance is worth it.



#9 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 30 September 2013 - 20:05

Well the server in your sig, is at 192,40 €....but at that price I imagine it is a 2bay and I at least need a 4bay for my RAID5.

No its a 4bay, they're just really cheap, just mine is the slightly slower model at 1.6GHz rather than 2.2GHz can't find the specs for mine now. (they're going end of life cause the Gen8 version is out.

http://www8.hp.com/u...9#!tab=features

it_photo_158899_52.jpg



#10 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 September 2013 - 21:04

No its a 4bay, they're just really cheap, just mine is the slightly slower model at 1.6GHz rather than 2.2GHz can't find the specs for mine now. (they're going end of life cause the Gen8 version is out.

http://www8.hp.com/u...9#!tab=features

it_photo_158899_52.jpg

Ah but this out of the box only supports RAID0, RAID1...........to support RAID5, I would have to buy a expansion card (which I have, RocketRAID 640) which pretty much leaves me where I am now.....

 

The Synology DiskStation DS413 looks intresting to me and AFAIK doesnt really have any different in features with the QNAP TS-421 (only better CPU).

 

BTW, Ive seen these two options but if there are any other 4 bay RAID5 NASs out there, please say so :) Im not too happy about a HP ProLiant N40L Microserver/FreeNAS combo as I simply want something easy to setup but Im not sure either if its actually worth the price difference....



#11 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 30 September 2013 - 23:06

Hello :)
 
Im looking for a 4 disk NAS server. Ive looked at two models: Synology DiskStation DS413 (419 €) and QNAP TS-421 (479 €)
 
Ill use it as "My Documents, Deskop, etc" drive (My user will mount the network drive and get its My Documents, Desktop, etc folder from there).
 
What are your recommendations?
 
Thank you


For that price you could get a 12 bay SAS expander like the the msa60 and have money to spare for a 16 port SAS card like the p800.

EOL enterprise gear = more for less

#12 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 30 September 2013 - 23:50

Ah but this out of the box only supports RAID0, RAID1...........to support RAID5, I would have to buy a expansion card (which I have, RocketRAID 640) which pretty much leaves me where I am now.....

 

The Synology DiskStation DS413 looks intresting to me and AFAIK doesnt really have any different in features with the QNAP TS-421 (only better CPU).

 

BTW, Ive seen these two options but if there are any other 4 bay RAID5 NASs out there, please say so :) Im not too happy about a HP ProLiant N40L Microserver/FreeNAS combo as I simply want something easy to setup but Im not sure either if its actually worth the price difference....

I have Windows Server 2012 so that has Storage Spaces which is parity. I don't use the hardware RAID.



#13 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 01 October 2013 - 07:38

For that price you could get a 12 bay SAS expander like the the msa60 and have money to spare for a 16 port SAS card like the p800.

EOL enterprise gear = more for less

 

Im not too sure what you mean, Im sorry...

 

I looked up HP MSA60 and got this:

 

http://www.senetic.e...CFQ_LtAoddDwAfQ

 

I imagine that at 2880.41 € you mean something else or I misunderstood you



#14 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 01 October 2013 - 09:49

Im not too sure what you mean, Im sorry...
 
I looked up HP MSA60 and got this:
 
http://www.senetic.e...CFQ_LtAoddDwAfQ
 
I imagine that at 2880.41 € you mean something else or I misunderstood you


http://www.ebay.com/...=item19e26a4d20

http://www.ebay.com/...=item1e80a87c71

Of course these devices will use more power and make more noise than consumer gear but good luck finding a 12 bay nas for under £2000.

#15 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 01 October 2013 - 11:43

http://www.ebay.com/...=item19e26a4d20

http://www.ebay.com/...=item1e80a87c71

Of course these devices will use more power and make more noise than consumer gear but good luck finding a 12 bay nas for under £2000.

 

470 € (used) and the P800 is not avaliable for me....

 

Also, Im not sure I have room for this....seems kinda big to put on the floor.

 

Do I have to install a OS for this?

 

Sorry, Im kinda lost on these rack things for home.

 

Im not too intrested in noise; This will go in my room and it will be on all day/night.