Jump to content



Photo

network connections page is blank

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rimman93

rimman93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-October 13

Posted 19 October 2013 - 22:01

start>control panel>network and internet>network connections is blank. I've looked around and found several threads here and there, saying that I need to open up a registry editor, and fix the GUID's, by seperating them. I checked them, and they were already seperated. I then find another thread which said to access HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Network\Config using a registry editor. I dont see a"\Config" anywhere. I'm supposed to rename that location, so that it'll fix itself after it regenerates itself. Can someone tell me why I don't see this Config location? I don't have any internet on the desktop, I'm using a kindle right now, please help!



Best Answer Walid W. , 20 October 2013 - 19:22

You need to install your computer's network driver and not your routers. Can you give us the model number of your computer so that we find the network driver for you?

Go to the full post



#2 ShockD

ShockD

    Antagonist

  • Joined: 15-October 13
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:40

What OS are you using?

 

Does it say that you aren't connected to any networks or it's just plain blank?



#3 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 20 October 2013 - 12:07

The only time that this happened to me when I re-installed my laptop and didn't have the network drivers installed. Try to re-install your network drivers, maybe?



#4 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 October 2013 - 14:41

The only time that this happened to me when I re-installed my laptop and didn't have the network drivers installed. Try to re-install your network drivers, maybe?


Pretty much this.

#5 OP rimman93

rimman93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-October 13

Posted 20 October 2013 - 18:51

What OS are you using?

 

Does it say that you aren't connected to any networks or it's just plain blank?

I'm using windows 7 64bit. When I click on the monitor with a red X on it, then click "troubleshooting", it says my network adapter needs drivers installed. I can't find drivers anywhere for my router, its a netgear wnr2000v3. My modem is plugged into the router, which goes to my desktop. I've tried plugging my desktop directly into the modem, and I get the same message about the drivers.

A few days ago I came home from work, and I couldn't access my admin account. After I entered the password, it'd say something about being unable to find something. So I logged onto the guest account, whenever I'd type in the password for admin permissionI'd get a similar message. I then reinstalled windows, and now I can't access the internet at all.



#6 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 20 October 2013 - 19:22   Best Answer

You need to install your computer's network driver and not your routers. Can you give us the model number of your computer so that we find the network driver for you?



#7 OP rimman93

rimman93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-October 13

Posted 20 October 2013 - 19:38

You need to install your computer's network driver and not your routers. Can you give us the model number of your computer so that we find the network driver for you?

Ah yes, someone in another thread told me to update my boards network driver on it's manufacturer's site. It worked, and I have internet now! :) Thank you for your replies, and time, I appreciate the help, sorry I'm so n00by.



#8 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 20 October 2013 - 20:03

You are welcome and welcome to Neowin as well and I am glad you sorted it out. :)