Jump to content



Photo

CoD Ghosts - PS4 frame rate fix in the works


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew

Andrew

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 13 November 2013 - 00:17

The early reviews of Call of Duty: Ghosts--including mine--mentioned that the PlayStation 4 version of the game suffers from occasional frame rate issues. For me, it usually showed up whenever there were a lot of particle effects on screen, but it'd pop up at random, too. I'm told that Infinity Ward is working on a patch to correct the performance issues.

 

http://www.giantbomb...info/1100-4785/




#2 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 13 November 2013 - 00:37

downres confirmed?
 
but for real, I highly doubt it its as simple as a "fix" when IW says this to DF
 

And it wasn't a lack of effort. It wasn't that it was like last minute. We had the theoretical hardware for a long time. That's the thing you get pretty quickly and that doesn't change dramatically. It was more about resource allocation. The resource allocation is different on the consoles. That huge web of tangled resources, whether it's threads-based or if it's GPU threads or if it's memory - whatever it is - optimisation is something that could go theoretically on forever.



#3 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 13 November 2013 - 00:59

Its good to hear that they are working on it.

Unfortunately, if it takes them too long, it wont really matter. People are buying the game now and word will get around.

#4 2xSilverKnight

2xSilverKnight

    Neowinian Master

  • Joined: 07-August 01

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:22

They either will lower the effects in some area, or really optimize the coding.



#5 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:34

IW always half asses on the PS consoles and gives ###### excuses.



#6 incendy

incendy

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-October 05

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:43

Seems a lot of PlayStation things are being fixed with patches, hope that isn't a trend.



#7 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:47

looks like the resolution has already been downgraded. the recent frame captures and videos from thesixthaxis and IGN show the ps4 version actually running at 720p native,confirmed by pixel counting.

#8 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 13 November 2013 - 05:00

I think it would be best to wait for some official info before jumping to any conclusions.

#9 benthebear

benthebear

    Doin' manly things

  • Joined: 19-July 02
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 13 November 2013 - 05:09

They didn't like, test the game before they released it? I bet they thought no one would notice.



#10 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 13 November 2013 - 07:38

They either will lower the effects in some area, or really optimize the coding.

 

Dynamic effect reduction. never allow certain effects together, and nevermore than so and so particles.

 

outside of redoing the whole engine and actually making a new modern engine that is all they can do. 



#11 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 13 November 2013 - 07:39

looks like the resolution has already been downgraded. the recent frame captures and videos from thesixthaxis and IGN show the ps4 version actually running at 720p native,confirmed by pixel counting.

 

or that. however a simple downres might not affect performance as much as many expect. particle effects can have a bigger impact on performance than resolution. 



#12 blerk

blerk

    Banned User

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-December 10

Posted 13 November 2013 - 07:58

outside of redoing the whole engine and actually making a new modern engine that is all they can do. 

 

One day Infinity Ward might actually make a new game engine. That would be a glorious long overdue day.



#13 spudtrooper

spudtrooper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 920

Posted 13 November 2013 - 21:39

If its a software fix and they're not re-releasing textures, then all their doing is scaling the graphics in game engine/software vs how the X1 is scaling it via hardware... i can't imagine they would use lower res textures for single player as well, seems.. odd.

 

Either way, IW blew it



#14 Thief000

Thief000

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-December 05

Posted 13 November 2013 - 21:42

Seems a lot of PlayStation things are being fixed with patches, hope that isn't a trend.


You don't have a PS3 do you?

#15 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 13 November 2013 - 21:49

So now that is has been confirmed that there is a day one patch for the ps4 version of COD, that could be the patch hinted at here.

 

The weird thing is that they admit that SP has been running at 720p and that this patch will bump that up to 1080p.  There is no mention of fixing the framerate issue specifically, so who knows if the day one patch even addresses that part of it.