Jump to content



Photo

DDR4 Memory Will Be Released By Next Month

ddr4 ram memory 2133mhz 1.2 volts 4gb crucial

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#16 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • 3,874 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 02 December 2013 - 21:20

For a long, long time now RAM neither speed-wise nor capacity-wise has not been a bottleneck for most systems and I doubt it ever will be such again.

It's either permanent storage or processing. Mostly storage.

 

Actually, the density has been a bottleneck. Though, I prefer constraint to bottleneck in this case. At home I will enjoy getting 32GB in 2 DIMM slots. It'll be a while before it's in Servers, but this will do wonders for Datacenter and Windows licensing.




#17 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • 3,874 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 02 December 2013 - 21:22

I always hate graphs that manufacturer's provide. They never offer real world results, and instead just use some super arbitrary scenario where they can show massive gains. Nvidia is the best example of this, with every new driver they claim "80% better performance," if that was the case then I should be getting like 500 fps in games by now.

Will DDR4 be an improvement? Of course, but I highly highly doubt computers are suddenly going to become twice as fast because Crucial told us it will.

 

The memory might bet 80% better, there's going to be major improvement based on clock alone. It won't affect game frame rate as much as it may affect quality and performance and with games going x64, who knows what devs may be able to do.



#18 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • 5,689 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 02 December 2013 - 22:01

Actually, the density has been a bottleneck. Though, I prefer constraint to bottleneck in this case. At home I will enjoy getting 32GB in 2 DIMM slots. It'll be a while before it's in Servers, but this will do wonders for Datacenter and Windows licensing.

 

How exactly you will enjoy it, I'm curious? Any kind of highly professional work, I figure. But any professional should've (and could've unless one's actually not) invested in X79 with its 51.2 GB/s quad-channel base theoretical and 64 GB total. Well then, congratulations, anyone has been able to sport 32 GB for near two years in... well, ok, four slots, albeit running much faster than two and, I bet, for the same cost.



#19 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • 3,874 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:01

How exactly you will enjoy it, I'm curious? Any kind of highly professional work, I figure. But any professional should've (and could've unless one's actually not) invested in X79 with its 51.2 GB/s quad-channel base theoretical and 64 GB total. Well then, congratulations, anyone has been able to sport 32 GB for near two years in... well, ok, four slots, albeit running much faster than two and, I bet, for the same cost.

 

Density is primarily what I'm excited about, but more clock and having more memory on the same silicon can only boost performance. I don't know of any 4-slot mini-ITX. You can get full performance including full size video in a Mini-ITX with ease now, but not 4 mem slots. When it gets to servers, of course, the more memory you can get in a single VM Host, the more money you save on licensing. With VMs memory equates directly to VM performance here. 64GB is nothing in the enterprise. We're looking at Terabytes and many slots. The fewer the better.

 

I would imagine the performance boost from the clock specs on DDR4 will be much higher than moving from dual to quad channel but I have no experience with quad channel. With an 80% performance boost, and based purely on clock and density, I believe it can come close, this will provide significant performance for OS and applications.

 

DDR4 will mean we we might actually experience DDR3's theoretical top end if the numbers translate to real world performance. It's a natural and expected evolution. Once devs can assume high end gamers realistically may have 32-64GB, 32 even in a Mini-ITX, they will utilize it and with 64 bit game engines like Frostbite, I'm excited to see how. It's still a ways off, or from being mainstream affordable after that, but it's definitely a good thing.



#20 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,862 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:02

And I've only just bought a new motherboard and RAM... FFFFFFFFUUUUUUUU



#21 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • 742 posts
  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:09

On the chart it shows speed for dd3 as 1066mhz... and ddr4 being 2133Mhz. The ram I have now is already 2133mhz ? Do I understand it wrong or what?



#22 Farchord

Farchord

    Life is but a sum of your achievements

  • 1,645 posts
  • Joined: 06-November 01
  • Location: Shawinigan, Quebec, Canada
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:20

It's actually coming out next year, they updated the article.



#23 D. S.

D. S.

    Hate is the new Love

  • 3,317 posts
  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Portugal
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nokia 113

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:27

I can see it now: DDR4 motherboards that cost twice as much as their DDR3 counterparts just because 4>3. I wouldn't worry too much about it. Like DDR2 before it, DDR3 will be here for a long time.



#24 Slammers

Slammers

    Neowinian

  • 1,215 posts
  • Joined: 30-April 08

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:30

You could spend thousands on a computer and the speed of the ram would still not be the bottleneck, so I wouldn't worry if you recently built or upgraded.



#25 Mr. Dee

Mr. Dee

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,486 posts
  • Joined: 11-April 03
  • Location: Caribbean
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro, Windows 7 Professional, Windows XP Professional

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:42

So its probably best to wait until Black Friday 2014 to buy a new computer. :)



#26 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • 5,689 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:44

On the chart it shows speed for dd3 as 1066mhz... and ddr4 being 2133Mhz. The ram I have now is already 2133mhz ? Do I understand it wrong or what?

 

Nothing wrong. You have these speeds now, except at a rather high voltage of 1.65V.

Well, apart from the fact that any DDR technically runs at half of their advertised clock and all these are MT/s, but they don't mentioned anywhere, because NUMBARRS!

 

 

 

I fear it is more a case of want than need.

There's never enough for enterprise, no doubt about that.



#27 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • 3,874 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 02 December 2013 - 23:52

Nothing wrong. You have these speeds now, except at a rather high voltage of 1.65V.

Well, apart from the fact that any DDR technically runs at half of their advertised clock and all these are MT/s, but they don't mentioned anywhere, because NUMBARRS!

 

 

I fear it is more a case of want than need.

There's never enough for enterprise, no doubt about that.

 

hehehe, at home, wanting 32GB in a Mini-ITX is want. More memory density in the enterprise is need, then it will be want. We won't just use less slots, we'll run more VMs in that space. We're paying for DDR3, we'll pay less, or simply get more in the same space with DDR4 plus lower power consumption.



#28 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • 742 posts
  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 December 2013 - 12:13

Nothing wrong. You have these speeds now, except at a rather high voltage of 1.65V.

Well, apart from the fact that any DDR technically runs at half of their advertised clock and all these are MT/s, but they don't mentioned anywhere, because NUMBARRS!

 

Ah riiiight, always wondered why in some programs it still shows as 1066Mhz each.. strange. Thanks for the info :)



#29 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,726 posts
  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 03 December 2013 - 12:31

The graphs on page 1 are useless. The are showing 800mhz ddr2 and 1066mhz ddr3 and they are using really old games. AMD's processors show significant performance increase with faster memory, intel doesn't. DDR3 goes from 1066-2933mhz, ddr4 starts at 2133mhz which is a nice improvement over the 1333mhz and 1600mhz which are the most common ddr3 used in pc's and laptops today. The voltage of ddr3 started at around 1.8v or so originally but nowadays most ddr3 memory is 1.5-1.65v and there are some that are 1.35v. DDR4 starts off at just 1.2v and will go lower over time. This lower voltage can signifcantly reduce power consumption of your computer which is very important to laptops.D

 

DDR4 also has lots of protocol improvements such as CRC checks on the data bus etc: http://en.wikipedia....wiki/DDR4_SDRAM

 

DDR4 is a very nice improvement over DDR3. It will be 2yrs or so until ddr4 is reasonably priced i suspect based on previous ddr memory prices by then i suspect that 2800mhz and other fast speeds will be commonplace.

 

Here are some ddr3 gaming graphs of amd and intel processors in games from september 2013: http://www.tomshardw...nd,3593-11.html



#30 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    Looking for a job in Lisbon

  • 12,219 posts
  • Joined: 08-May 04

Posted 03 December 2013 - 12:46

I can see it now: DDR4 motherboards that cost twice as much as their DDR3 counterparts just because 4>3.

In Portugal? Yeap.