Jump to content



Photo

Surround Gaming


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 01:10

So, from my understanding on Nvidia surround, I don't like how it works.

 

It basically takes over the Windows UI and changing how it works. I have apps that add features to my differnet monitors etc.

 

My question though is, can it be turned off? Like can I enable surround to go gaming, then turn it off when I am done?




#2 Vvo

Vvo

    nom! nom! nom! Hug a fluffy dolphin!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-November 10
  • Location: fluffyland
  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 8.1/Windows XP/ Linux
  • Phone: Samsung Vibrant (android 4.4.4 KK L-Droid 3.0.1)

Posted 17 December 2013 - 05:58

from what I know about nvidia surround, it allows you to run 3 or more displays depending on how much your gfx card supports.



#3 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 17 December 2013 - 06:09

Unfortunately I don't think so, I played with the options a little myself, couldn't find a good compromise, so dropped it,

But I may be wrong



#4 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 15:55

hmm, that is disappointing.

 

DisplayFusion on Windows 8.1 is how I enjoy my system.



#5 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:00

How does it take over the Windows UI?



#6 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:18

It changes how multi montiors work, how windows react to things etc...

 

So like, from what I read, if you fullscreen a browser, it fullscreens to all of them, acts like there is only one monitor. It's quite stupid.

Also, I can't seem to find out how to even install it? Where is the download?



#7 DaveGreen93

DaveGreen93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 12
  • Location: Forest of Dean, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:20

What it does is create a single resolution from the sum of all your monitors, e.g. 3 1920x1080 monitors would be a resolution of 5760x1080 in surround.

 

You can disable and enable this through the Nvidia control panel, but the way this has been implemented is terrible compared to AMDs eyefinity which is why I'll be moving back to AMD sometime next year.

 

I don't really understand how it takes over the Windows UI though?

 

Just think of it as making multiple monitors into one. Maximise a program, it will fill the entire resolution. Start Screen on Windows 8 does look pretty cool spanning across 3 monitors though.



#8 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:21

Ah, I see. Basically instead of Windows seeing 3 1920x1080 monitors it instead sees 1 5760x1080 monitor.

 

I can see how that would be a problem, I'm surprised nvidia doesn't have some sort of workaround for it. I was planning on building a surround setup but that sounds like a PITA.



#9 DaveGreen93

DaveGreen93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 12
  • Location: Forest of Dean, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:23

It changes how multi montiors work, how windows react to things etc...

 

So like, from what I read, if you fullscreen a browser, it fullscreens to all of them, acts like there is only one monitor. It's quite stupid.

Also, I can't seem to find out how to even install it? Where is the download?

 

Which is why it's primarily for games. Best on Driving games in my opinion.

It's included with the Nvidia drivers (http://www.nvidia.co...aspx?lang=en-us)



#10 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:30

As long as it can be turned off, like you said, I am fine with it :)

THanks for the help!

 

Though I just updated my drivers, made sure I installed everything with it, where do I turn it on?



#11 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:34

somehow I envision toggling it on and off to be a nightmare for keeping desktop icons arranged



#12 DaveGreen93

DaveGreen93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 12
  • Location: Forest of Dean, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:39

As long as it can be turned off, like you said, I am fine with it :)

THanks for the help!

 

Though I just updated my drivers, made sure I installed everything with it, where do I turn it on?

 

Try right clicking on your desktop, there should be an Nvidia Control Panel option. Otherwise, it should also be in the Windows Control Panel



#13 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 16:59

Yes, but I mean where in the Nvidia Control Panel, I do not see it.



#14 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 17 December 2013 - 17:01

From what I've read this requires SLI, correct? Two cards for three displays?



#15 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 17 December 2013 - 18:02

No, you can do single GPU, or a duel, or triple. Of course, depends on your card.

 

I know for fact I can use my 770, two DVI-Ds, one Displayport.