Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 issues.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:54

So my wife's laptop had her restart after installing itunes.

 

This was the result.

http://imgur.com/Yw9FKpn

http://imgur.com/4mO5XIQ

 

 

I was able to control alt delete. And start explorer.exe as an admin and get a desktop. How do I fix this?

 

 

When booting into safemode with networking it works fine, no errors at all.  

 

In normal desktop mode, you enter the password, you get a mouse and that's it.  Bring up task manager, and run explorer.exe as admin and you can get the full desktop to load.   Then later on "There was an error stating c:\windows\system32\weconcpl.dll Access denied"

 

 

 

Tried to do a system restore, no luck.  

 

 

Check disk running but it says Cannot run it because the only volume is in use by another process.

 

SFC /SCANNOW finds nothing.  

 




#2 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:03

Does the Event Viewer has anything related with that crash? if yes then post those errors here.

Also i'll start checking for malware: download MBAM / Superantispyware or similiar good solution, update it and run a full scan. Also you can use combofix but only as a last resource.



#3 OP Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:30

Does the Event Viewer has anything related with that crash? if yes then post those errors here.
Also i'll start checking for malware: download MBAM / Superantispyware or similiar good solution, update it and run a full scan. Also you can use combofix but only as a last resource.


I'll have to check the event viewer. I ran a scan but KAV to rule out any virus. I'll try spyware.

#4 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:05

It might not be virus but spyware; the event viewer should have more info about that error.



#5 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:09

Does uninstalling iTunes and the other items that install with iTunes make the laptop behave in the way it is supposed to?



#6 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:09

Apparently, this can be caused by over-enthusiastic AV definitions.
http://answers.micro...7e-1e8865044eb2

If you run an AV, try disabling it in Safe Mode and then restarting.

#7 OP Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:15

Apparently, this can be caused by over-enthusiastic AV definitions.
http://answers.micro...7e-1e8865044eb2

If you run an AV, try disabling it in Safe Mode and then restarting.

If I disabled it and restarted wouldn't it just restart itself since it was a reboot?  

 

I'll do this tomorrow after work. 

 

I'll also try uninstalling itunes again.  It failed and threw up the one error so I couldn't continue.  I'll try it in safe mode



#8 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:22

If I disabled it and restarted wouldn't it just restart itself since it was a reboot?


Hmm. That's possible. It may be sufficient to disable real-time scanning - whether or not it remembers that on a reboot probably depends on what AV you have. Failing that, you might have to flex your administrator muscles and "disable" it in a less graceful manner.

#9 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:28

I believe if you uninstall your antivirus, your product key is still valid when you reinstall it

BUT before you try that, please note, I'm going by mine, which does exactly that,

(currently using ZoneAlarm, before that, I used to have Norton and Kaspersky before that, and they did remember my key)

 

And I think it would benefit you more if you decide to wait for a more experienced user than I to advise on this, if you have a doubt :)



#10 OP Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:30

Hmm. That's possible. It may be sufficient to disable real-time scanning - whether or not it remembers that on a reboot probably depends on what AV you have. Failing that, you might have to flex your administrator muscles and "disable" it in a less graceful manner.


I don't have a chance to look at anymore tonight. However her laptop came with mcafee. I believe it's expired. Maybe I'll just remove it and put something else there. Unless we reformat.