Jump to content



Photo

Step up from on board audio.


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 19 March 2014 - 17:16

Hi,

 

I may have asked this or a similar question before but I could not see any such post by me. I have been wondering this for months and decided to ask you about it.

 

I have the Asus Sabertooth Z77 MD and it has a Realtek ALC892 sound processor on it. Well quite frankly it's horrible. I have a great set of Logitech analog 5.1 surround speakers and on my last 2 builds, one had a Creative card and the other just a generic Siig I think, they sounded great and the control panels had many great features. With this Realtek it just the opposite. I am looking for a step up to a PCIE sound card and was just wondering if anyone has used another brand and what you think of it to help me in my search.

 

Thanks,

 




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 March 2014 - 17:33

Anything Creative is great. Just don't get the cheapest pos. I used mine, (PCI) back in the days when they didn't have onboard sound. Never had an issue.



#3 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 19 March 2014 - 18:05

If you want to really invest in something worthwhile, get a 2nd hand 5.1+ HDMI A/V Receiver (Sony/Yamaha/Onkyo etc) & compatible speakers. I output everything to my Yamaha from my laptop via HDMI and it is glorious.

Single-handedly, it has eliminated any form of noise/crackle/EMI traditionally vomited out via analogue output.

#4 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 March 2014 - 18:10

Anything Creative is great.

Stopped there.

Creative has a nasty habit of dropping driver support for products that have at 1 or 2 years in them. Do not get them, I learned the hard way.

Ive heard a lot about Asus' Xonar line. Might wanna take a look.

#5 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 March 2014 - 19:06

Stopped there.

Creative has a nasty habit of dropping driver support for products that have at 1 or 2 years in them. Do not get them, I learned the hard way.

Ive heard a lot about Asus' Xonar line. Might wanna take a look.

 

You haven't used them lately, have you? I have not seen that. Care to give reference on that?



#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 19 March 2014 - 19:51

Stopped there.Creative has a nasty habit of dropping driver support for products that have at 1 or 2 years in them. Do not get them, I learned the hard way.Ive heard a lot about Asus' Xonar line. Might wanna take a look.


The funny thing is Creative changed and now has excellent driver support, Asus meanwhile who stepped up as the savior and was supposed to be the one to rescue all us poor souls suffering from no drivers from creative... Well they've become worse than creative ever was with driver support. They drop support faster than they can release the damn things, functionally the drivers are terrible and buggy and they never get new features in drivers.

So I have my Xonar on the shelf, and wouldn't buy another at this point and would buy a creative if I needed one again, but most of my sound card needs today are digital hdmi so...

#7 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 19 March 2014 - 20:46

 

I have the Asus Sabertooth Z77 MD and it has a Realtek ALC892 sound processor on it. Well quite frankly it's horrible.

Could you describe how? If you're having interference issues, I'd recommend an external sound card.



#8 Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.1 Ubuntu 14.10 64-bit

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:31

I have both a ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card and a USB DAC. Honestly, I much prefer the DAC.



#9 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:40

I have the Asus Xonar Essence STX, quite possibly the best audio card in the world.  I have it running to my AV Amp since all my music is on my computer.  The sound is phenomenal.  Go to Asus' website to read up on it.  I heard this past week that they've come out with a newer version, so you could likely find the original for a good price.  But FYI, it costs about $180.



#10 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:40

I have a Xonar 7.1 and it sounds excellent on my Klipsch speakers.



#11 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:49

I'm using onboard sound on my PC, using digital out to my Logitech 5.1 system and it sound great, no problem at all.

 

Before that, I had a Creative X-Fi and... I can't tell the difference.  Mostly playing iTune music, movies and games.



#12 daorbed9

daorbed9

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 13
  • Location: NC

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:49

Anything Creative is great.

 

Never thought I'd hear that.



#13 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 19 March 2014 - 22:07

Anything Creative is great. Just don't get the cheapest pos. I used mine, (PCI) back in the days when they didn't have onboard sound. Never had an issue.

Define the "cheapest POS".  I have the X-Fi XtremeGamer sitting on a shelf (due to being replaced with a refurb Recon3D Fata1ity Pro in PCI Express x1).  The reason it's shelfware is due to a hardware bug in the X-Fi DSP at the 4 GB hardware address.  I have 4 GB of RAM, while Mom has 5 GB - that's why it's on a shelf, not in her PC.  The Recon3D does everything the XtremeGamer did, and in every OS the XtremeGamer did.  I would avoid the X-Fi XtremeAudio - but that is due to the software DSP - not hardware DSP like either the XtremeMusic/Gamer or Recon3D I have today.

 

Further, the SoundCore DSP has a non-Creative-software option that is actually the default - it works as an Intel HD Audio device (in either Windows or Linux) and can use the same support as any other Intel HD Audio device.  So even the Creative-driver fanatics have nothing to complain about with the Recon3D.



#14 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 March 2014 - 22:22

You haven't used them lately, have you? I have not seen that. Care to give reference on that?

The entire Audigy family was a mess (2001 to around 2013). Just horrible, unsupported, buggy, etc. drivers. A lot of people lost a lot of trust in them despite them being great cards.
 
 

The funny thing is Creative changed and now has excellent driver support, they've become worse than creative ever was with driver support.

Well, I hope you are right. I still have my Audigy cad and man it still sounds awesome. I tried on board since people always said there is no difference nowadays and wow, they were completely wrong.

#15 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 March 2014 - 22:28

Define the "cheapest POS".  I have the X-Fi XtremeGamer sitting on a shelf (due to being replaced with a refurb Recon3D Fata1ity Pro in PCI Express x1).  The reason it's shelfware is due to a hardware bug in the X-Fi DSP at the 4 GB hardware address.  I have 4 GB of RAM, while Mom has 5 GB - that's why it's on a shelf, not in her PC.  The Recon3D does everything the XtremeGamer did, and in every OS the XtremeGamer did.  I would avoid the X-Fi XtremeAudio - but that is due to the software DSP - not hardware DSP like either the XtremeMusic/Gamer or Recon3D I have today.

 

Further, the SoundCore DSP has a non-Creative-software option that is actually the default - it works as an Intel HD Audio device (in either Windows or Linux) and can use the same support as any other Intel HD Audio device.  So even the Creative-driver fanatics have nothing to complain about with the Recon3D.

 

POS, meaning the chespest crap. http://www.newegg.co...N82E16829102012