Jump to content



Photo

So I just got four WD Red 4TB drives...


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#61 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:09

Maybe I'm the odd one out but I don't see the perpetual need to have the enormous amount of space some folks around here strive for

 

500GB is way more than I'd ever need. Just as an example.

 

Then again, I don't store a lot of music/pictures. Mostly just application coding.

Yeah, actually, until I moved overseas and had to convert all my CD music to digital (FLAC files, which use a lot of space), I wouldn't have had such need for so much space.

 

Now, all my music is played into my stereo via my PC, so I'm glad I have plenty.  Having said that, I would never need 16 TB.  I have a 3 TB and a 1 TB drive, and a 85 GB SSD for my OS and apps.  Even with a lot of video files and music, I've got tons of available space for growth.




#62 Obry

Obry

    Intaxity.com

  • Joined: 27-September 04
  • Location: Winter Garden, FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:10

Man what do you people store so much on your computers? I don't own a desktop PC anymore and my Ultrabook has 256GB SSD and I have 1.5 TB external HDD plugged into my USB hub at the office and another 1 TB that I carry with me and both have tons and tons of space left even after I have half of the ISO's from my MSDN subscription... Then again I don't download movies from torrent sites often...



#63 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:16

Man what do you people store so much on your computers? I don't own a desktop PC anymore and my Ultrabook has 256GB SSD and I have 1.5 TB external HDD plugged into my USB hub at the office and another 1 TB that I carry with me and both have tons and tons of space left even after I have half of the ISO's from my MSDN subscription... Then again I don't download movies from torrent sites often...

For me, lossless and lossy music I've ripped.  I have videos from my HD Sony video camera, and pictures from my Canon DSLR. Many ISOs from my old MSDN and TechNet Subscriptions.  I have a 17 month old little girl, and we want to preserve these memories in video and photos!  But mostly the space is from music.



#64 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:40

Perhaps you misunderstood me ? Im not suggesting this be used in enterprise but for home use instead of the pathetic overpriced offerings of synology and qnap

 

I wouldn't even use them in my home, if it was data I didn't want to lose or wanted to keep the system up and running. I'd rather pay ($199) for an excellent 2 drive Synology that does a TON of stuff, with a warranty and piece of mind knowing it's going to work with minimal setup/administration once you configure it. You get what you pay for, and honestly, if $199 is out of your price range you shouldn't even be dabbling in a setup like this.



#65 Krome

Krome

    Neowinian God!

  • Joined: 29-August 01

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:43

Budman is very loud in here :laugh:  I need a couple of those drives.  Waiting for the gift from Budman.

 

I want those drives but dang bad review on newegg

NEreview.PNG



#66 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Emterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520 Black

Posted 08 May 2014 - 20:52

I wouldn't even use them in my home, if it was data I didn't want to lose or wanted to keep the system up and running. I'd rather pay ($199) for an excellent 2 drive Synology that does a TON of stuff, with a warranty and piece of mind knowing it's going to work with minimal setup/administration once you configure it. You get what you pay for, and honestly, if $199 is out of your price range you shouldn't even be dabbling in a setup like this.

Do you buy your computers from Packard Bell with recovery partitions for the same reason ?

lol @ $199 for 2 bays :rofl: You could get 2 SAS expanders for that price with support for 28 SAS drives. Its not that the price is high (typing this on a g19s on a network with clustered HP servers running close to 100VMs) but the fact that for 15$ you can get a card that will run rings around what you get from qnap and sinology... A card which is isn't the best available by a longshot P800 P812 etc but again has 8 ports 512MB cache BBU RAID6 etc

 

Oh well some people like paying more and getting less I guess. I just want to let people know that there are far far better alternatives than these trashcans and no need to buy WD RED AKA the poor mans SAS drive in order to overcome the limitations of these boxes.



#67 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:14

I wouldn't even use them in my home, if it was data I didn't want to lose or wanted to keep the system up and running. I'd rather pay ($199) for an excellent 2 drive Synology that does a TON of stuff, with a warranty and piece of mind knowing it's going to work with minimal setup/administration once you configure it. You get what you pay for, and honestly, if $199 is out of your price range you shouldn't even be dabbling in a setup like this.

Do you replace all of your hardware as soon as the warranty expires? Otherwise, you're operating without a warranty at some point...



#68 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:25

Do you buy your computers from Packard Bell with recovery partitions for the same reason ?

lol @ $199 for 2 bays :rofl: You could get 2 SAS expanders for that price with support for 28 SAS drives. Its not that the price is high (typing this on a g19s on a network with clustered HP servers running close to 100VMs) but the fact that for 15$ you can get a card that will run rings around what you get from qnap and sinology... A card which is isn't the best available by a longshot P800 P812 etc but again has 8 ports 512MB cache BBU RAID6 etc

 

Oh well some people like paying more and getting less I guess. I just want to let people know that there are far far better alternatives than these trashcans and no need to buy WD RED AKA the poor mans SAS drive in order to overcome the limitations of these boxes.

Additionally, you can carry LSI arrays across to other LSI hardware.. So you don't need to always find the exact card you're using...



#69 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:26

Do you buy your computers from Packard Bell with recovery partitions for the same reason ?

lol @ $199 for 2 bays :rofl: You could get 2 SAS expanders for that price with support for 28 SAS drives. Its not that the price is high (typing this on a g19s on a network with clustered HP servers running close to 100VMs) but the fact that for 15$ you can get a card that will run rings around what you get from qnap and sinology... A card which is isn't the best available by a longshot P800 P812 etc but again has 8 ports 512MB cache BBU RAID6 etc

 

Oh well some people like paying more and getting less I guess. I just want to let people know that there are far far better alternatives than these trashcans and no need to buy WD RED AKA the poor mans SAS drive in order to overcome the limitations of these boxes.

I think what really devalues your attempt at "help" is the condescending tone that you are so superior to the poor people that are idiots because they don't buy what you think they should buy.  If you want to help, share information, just don't sound like an ass.



#70 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Emterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520 Black

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:42

I think what really devalues your attempt at "help" is the condescending tone that you are so superior to the poor people that are idiots because they don't buy what you think they should buy.  If you want to help, share information, just don't sound like an ass.

I try but its hard to keep a straight face when talking about synoligy and qnap selling their dinky cramped boxes for outrageous prices



#71 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:51

I try but its hard to keep a straight face when talking about synoligy and qnap selling their dinky cramped boxes for outrageous prices

I definitely don't know enough about the subject to comment on it but it's hard to take your comments seriously when you're basically insulting someone that knows less than you (like me).  If you have the knowledge or even a well-formed opinion just try to be respectful about it and it'll go a long ways.



#72 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:54

I'm looking for a backup solution but don't want to pay for a QNAP when I have a box that performs all of the functions I would use NAS for. Obviously part of the cost is in its functionality, I literally just need something that can backup multiple sources over my network and nothing more. I could easily throw a couple more HDDs into my main box but this wouldn't protect from a catastrophic failure. It would be good to have something hidden away.

#73 Michael Scrip

Michael Scrip

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 13

Posted 08 May 2014 - 21:59

Man what do you people store so much on your computers? I don't own a desktop PC anymore and my Ultrabook has 256GB SSD and I have 1.5 TB external HDD plugged into my USB hub at the office and another 1 TB that I carry with me and both have tons and tons of space left even after I have half of the ISO's from my MSDN subscription... Then again I don't download movies from torrent sites often...

For me it's digital video.  I do video production... and a weekend shoot could generate 20-30GBs of material.  

 

In the old days... I had videotapes of the originals. But now... my camcorder generates a bunch of files that I need to keep somewhere.

 

I have a pair of 2TB Green drives that act as my archives... one drive is a copy of the other.  But now they're almost full.

 

I averaged about 400GB of video a year from my camcorder in 2012 and 2013.

 

4TB drives would keep me going for a while :)