Jump to content



Photo

New MOBO does not see working HDD

gigabyte samsung hard drive bios

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 13 May 2014 - 15:51

Recently bought a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P, but it doesn't detect my Samsung F3 1TB (HD103SJ) in BIOS. It detects the other 4 drives (3HDD & 1SSD) and the Samsung drive works fine when connected through an external rack. I also switched between various SATA, power cables and chipset modes (AHCI, RAID, IDE) with the same result.

I don't know if this is relevant in any way, but the last thing I did on the drive was run System Preparation Tool so that I could move Windows to the new hardware.

Any suggestions?




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 May 2014 - 15:57

Is it in device manager or computer manager? Could be a letter conflict.

 

Is it formatted?



#3 Zarbyte

Zarbyte

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-March 14

Posted 13 May 2014 - 16:45

I would attempt reformatting. That is a really strange issue. One I have never encountered. 



#4 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Xubuntu 14.04.1 / Server 2012 R2 / Ubuntu Server 14.04.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 13 May 2014 - 17:23

I have a Samsung Spinpoint F2 1TB, mine exhibits similar behaviour on a completely different motherboard.

 

I currently have it plugged into SATA 0, but it refuses to be recognised in SATA 1-5 (6 ports total) if other drives are plugged in. If I remove other drives, it is detected quite happily.

 

Currently I have the following config:

  • SATA 0 = 1TB Samsung F2
  • SATA 1 = 64GB OCZ SSD
  • SATA 2 = 3TB WD
  • SATA 3 = 3TB WD
  • SATA 4 = 1.5TB Samsung F3
  • SATA 5 = 1.5TB Samsung F3

 

It's former pair also has the same issue, which prevented me using them natively together on the same motherboard (Was fine however via an ASUS USB3 SATA 6 PCI-E card).



#5 OP Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 13 May 2014 - 17:34

I have a Samsung Spinpoint F2 1TB, mine exhibits similar behaviour on a completely different motherboard.

 

I currently have it plugged into SATA 0, but it refuses to be recognised in SATA 1-5 (6 ports total) if other drives are plugged in. If I remove other drives, it is detected quite happily.

 

Currently I have the following config:

  • SATA 0 = 1TB Samsung F2
  • SATA 1 = 64GB OCZ SSD
  • SATA 2 = 3TB WD
  • SATA 3 = 3TB WD
  • SATA 4 = 1.5TB Samsung F3
  • SATA 5 = 1.5TB Samsung F3

 

It's former pair also has the same issue, which prevented me using them natively together on the same motherboard (Was fine however via an ASUS USB3 SATA 6 PCI-E card).

I'll give it a shot plugging into each slot tonight. So far, I've only tried 1&5 solo.



#6 OP Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 13 May 2014 - 21:03

This has certainly been one of the wierdest experiences I've ever had. So I tried plugging the drive alone in all the SATA ports and nothing happened until I got to SATA 0. As soon as I booted, the drive finally powered on (it never did before), but before I could get into BIOS to check if it's detected it started making a loud repeated banging noise (not the *click click* I know from dead drives), when I panicked and shut the system down. Still, I decided to boot again two more times, however, the drive did not power on any more.

 

After that, I put it back in the external rack and turned it on with no out of the ordinary sounds coming from the drive and then I tried booting the PC. Turns out, it refuses to boot if the rack's USB is plugged in. When I finally got into Windows, the drive seems fine with no bad sectors or lost data.

 

I'm still not sure why it doesn't work with the new motherboard, but after what happened last time, I'm not going to try again. I might fire Gigabyte a message and see if they have anything to say about it.



#7 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 13 May 2014 - 21:34

Power supply ? or power issue



#8 OP Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 13 May 2014 - 21:58

Power supply ? or power issue

I don't think so because it's only this particular drive and everything worked fine a couple of days ago with the old motherboard. It's probably some incompatibility between the drive and the SATA chipsets. Maybe a BIOS update will fix it if they release one.



#9 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Xubuntu 14.04.1 / Server 2012 R2 / Ubuntu Server 14.04.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 14 May 2014 - 00:02

I don't think so because it's only this particular drive and everything worked fine a couple of days ago with the old motherboard. It's probably some incompatibility between the drive and the SATA chipsets. Maybe a BIOS update will fix it if they release one.

 

In my experience, it seems to be just the drive (mine being a Samsung 1TB F2 HD103SI) with the issue - other models have been fine for me (Samsung 1.5TB F3 HD154UI etc). Unfortunately, they don't issue any firmware updates for them either.