Jump to content



Photo

Acronis True Image 10 Released


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • 1,366 posts
  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 17 October 2006 - 19:50

New features introduced in version 10.0

* Supports Microsoft Vista — Ensure that you can protect you system if you upgrade to the latest version of Windows
* Backup your music, video, and photos — Preserve your digital memories
* Outlook backup — Preserve your emails, contacts, calendar, tasks, notes, signatures, news folders, e-mail rules and user settings with just a few mouse clicks
* Application protection — Protect your application settings and avoid the time consuming process of redoing your custom settings
* Quick backup of specific files — Initiate backup of specific files without being in the Acronis True Image application
* Restore application settings — Avoid the hassle of customizing your applications again in case of failure
* Explore backups — Easily search and recover particular files in archives just like in Windows Explorer
* Create backup rules — Ensure that you never run out of space by setting limits on the amount of space allocated for backups, the number of backups and the amount of time you keep backups
* Email notifications — Peace of mind by obtaining notification that your backups have completed
* Save to FTP — Flexibility to store your backups where you want to


http://www.acronis.com


#2 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,775 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 17 October 2006 - 20:01

I never use this but I am downloading the trial. I have a question I am sure someone from Neowin can answer. Say if I backup my complete XP install onto DVD's. Format and install Vista, then whenever I need to do I guess format and go back to xp install it and then load the images back so it will be like i never installed Vista (everything would be as it was before I installed vista). Is that possible? or how does that work?

#3 Slimy

Slimy

    Ars + Neowin

  • 22,355 posts
  • Joined: 04-April 04

Posted 17 October 2006 - 20:03

Thanks for the news. I'll be deciding between ATI10 and the Vista backup program. I forget, does this work on Vista x64?

I never use this but I am downloading the trial. I have a question I am sure someone from Neowin can answer. Say if I backup my complete XP install onto DVD's. Format and install Vista, then whenever I need to do I guess format and go back to xp install it and then load the images back so it will be like i never installed Vista (everything would be as it was before I installed vista). Is that possible? or how does that work?

If you backup your XP Install partition (where \windows is) then there is no reason to format/reinstall xp, just load the image off dvd/other partition to wherever you want (ex. where Vista is).

#4 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,775 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 17 October 2006 - 20:04

Thanks for the news. I'll be deciding between ATI10 and the Vista backup program. I forget, does this work on Vista x64?
If you backup your XP Install partition (where \windows is) then there is no reason to format/reinstall xp, just load the image off dvd/other partition to wherever you want (ex. where Vista is).



Hmm, so it is that simple? lets say i installed vista. Want to go back to Xp by loading the images? just laod the images by using the program and it takes over from there? or do I have to drag and drop a copy of me C: drive?

Edit: I installed this, aand I take it by what you mean, I back up the entire C: drive, then whenver i need to just click restore and it will restore the entire thing by itself. That correct?

Edited by Dane, 17 October 2006 - 20:11.


#5 John.

John.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,912 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 05
  • Location: England

Posted 17 October 2006 - 20:07

I was in the Beta for this. VERY good release :)

#6 Carlos11

Carlos11

    Neowinian

  • 677 posts
  • Joined: 09-May 05

Posted 17 October 2006 - 23:20

Hmm, so it is that simple? lets say i installed vista. Want to go back to Xp by loading the images? just laod the images by using the program and it takes over from there? or do I have to drag and drop a copy of me C: drive?

Edit: I installed this, aand I take it by what you mean, I back up the entire C: drive, then whenver i need to just click restore and it will restore the entire thing by itself. That correct?


DON'T FORGET TO VERIFY THE IMAGE BEFORE RESTORING IT.

I THINK IT SHOULD BE THE DEFAULT ACTION BUT YOU ALWAYS HAVE TO CHECK IT. DON'T FORGET IT!!!!.

#7 Hurmoth

Hurmoth

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,038 posts
  • Joined: 09-March 03
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 18 October 2006 - 01:18

Wow, Vista support (Y) Acronis is awesome :yes:

#8 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,775 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 18 October 2006 - 01:21

DON'T FORGET TO VERIFY THE IMAGE BEFORE RESTORING IT.

I THINK IT SHOULD BE THE DEFAULT ACTION BUT YOU ALWAYS HAVE TO CHECK IT. DON'T FORGET IT!!!!.



What do you mean by that? How is that done?

#9 +Ghost96

Ghost96

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,716 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 04
  • Location: Right Here!

Posted 18 October 2006 - 01:25

I've never had to verify an image before restoring it but as always, YMMV.

I just upgraded to the version 10 and was really liking their FTP capabilities. I use Bulletproof FTP because I can make it portable and run it on any drive, including a USB drive.

And heck, anyone can use a few free FTP servers to make an FTP server for Acronis to connect to.

My backup of a 1.5 GB Windows XP installation (just the install and drivers) was compressed to 785 MB by default, and was uploading to my FTP server on my laptop at over 10,000 KB/s. Took about 1 minute and 15 seconds.

I thought it was a nice addition to the software and just got done backing up my main laptop about 5 minutes ago with the new version. Took about an hour and 15 minutes while Windows was running. I had 85 GB to back up and it did it with no problems whatsoever.

People get nervous about backing up while Windows is running but I've never had an issue and have restored my system various times with live backups. I'd definitely recommend the app because of my direct experience with it.

What do you mean by that? How is that done?

It's in the application's interface. When you are done backing up and creating the TIB file, you simply verify the image. It asks where the image is, you navigate to it, and it tells you if it's good or bad.

#10 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,775 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 18 October 2006 - 01:35

It's in the application's interface. When you are done backing up and creating the TIB file, you simply verify the image. It asks where the image is, you navigate to it, and it tells you if it's good or bad.



Oh hmm, I must have missed that. Is there a way to go back and do it? I am still trying to figure out how to burn a 25gig backup :blink: . You said you did the install and drivers that sounds like a good idea...I take it from a fresh install? It seems easy to backup everything so you can restore it so you dont need to install anything but blah haha, its like holy **** didnt htink it backed up that much.

#11 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 26,525 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 October 2006 - 01:35

DON'T FORGET TO VERIFY THE IMAGE BEFORE RESTORING IT.

I THINK IT SHOULD BE THE DEFAULT ACTION BUT YOU ALWAYS HAVE TO CHECK IT. DON'T FORGET IT!!!!.



I've tried that before on version 9.1 when I would back it up and it said the image is ok but when I try to restore the image from the bootable cd it always tells me the image is currupt.

#12 +Ghost96

Ghost96

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,716 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 04
  • Location: Right Here!

Posted 18 October 2006 - 02:02

Oh hmm, I must have missed that. Is there a way to go back and do it? I am still trying to figure out how to burn a 25gig backup :blink: . You said you did the install and drivers that sounds like a good idea...I take it from a fresh install? It seems easy to backup everything so you can restore it so you dont need to install anything but blah haha, its like holy **** didnt htink it backed up that much.

I mean I just backed up the plain install after I nLite'd it and then added the drivers afterwards to make a base image. Nice and easy backup.

I don't backup to DVD's for a number of reasons, but there's people out there who do. A couple handy links:

Acronis Forums
Acronis Documentation

You can check those out before you purchase so you can get more information on your possible investment.

I've never had a corrupt image so I can't offer any advice there. I do make BartPE CD's all the time and boot up to that because it's got better driver support than their CD. My BartCD works fantastic and Acronis' plug-in makes a perfect addition.

#13 Hitchhiker427

Hitchhiker427

    Neowinian

  • 1,091 posts
  • Joined: 13-December 04

Posted 18 October 2006 - 02:34

I've tried that before on version 9.1 when I would back it up and it said the image is ok but when I try to restore the image from the bootable cd it always tells me the image is currupt.


I've gotten that too before. However, your image is not actually corrupt. The vrification was right, it's just that ATI has problems sometimes restoring images from a CD. It works better if you have a fully installed version of ATI on another hard drive and use that to restore. It's less useful, yes, but it has a much better chance for success.

#14 MrCobra

MrCobra

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,586 posts
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN (USA)

Posted 18 October 2006 - 02:36

Think I'll wait for the workstation version.

#15 sweetsam

sweetsam

    Developer

  • 2,449 posts
  • Joined: 21-July 04

Posted 18 October 2006 - 02:53

Oh hmm, I must have missed that. Is there a way to go back and do it? I am still trying to figure out how to burn a 25gig backup :blink: . You said you did the install and drivers that sounds like a good idea...I take it from a fresh install? It seems easy to backup everything so you can restore it so you dont need to install anything but blah haha, its like holy **** didnt htink it backed up that much.


I use this software all the time. The backup can be done after booting to XP and then starting acronis trueimage. The other way is to use bootcd. Acronis has their own bootcd. Bart's bootcd and Hiren's Bootcd both available as torrent downloads also have acronis trueimage. In my experience Bart's and Hiren's bootcd have better driver support. I always perform restoration of entire partition using a bootcd. However individual files can also be restored from the image. With Acronis trueimage installed the image can be mounted as an independent drive.

I have never had my images go corrupt when I backup to another partition on the same hard drive. However I did face corruption problems when I backed up directly to cd. In my opinion backing up to cd is a bad idea since your setup changes from time to time.

I update my image once the number of windows updates and additional programs installed changes significantly. Currently I have two backups. One is a base install [XP + Absolutely essential programs]. The other is base install + programs needed for current use.

When you do backup there are many options. Password protection, compression, and image verification are some that stand out. At the best compression, a 10 GB partition with windows XP and all the programs installed was backed up in a image of 1.5 GB. I have a SATA II hard drive and image creation took 4 mins and restoration took 1.5 mins. The best part is you can use this software to migrate during hard drive upgrades by restoring the image to the new hard drive. This setup works best when you save your data on a separate partition. I always save my Data on D: and system on C:. Remember ! When you do a restore say of C: all data present on C: will be erased !!

Hope this information is helpful. I would be more than happy to help anybody with additional questions. I encourage everyone to give this amazing piece of software a try. Its a time saver especially for people like me who previously used to install XP every month or two to keep the computer fresh and fast. :yes: