Jump to content



Photo

Is a CPU cooler necessary?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 t_r_nelson

t_r_nelson

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 05
  • Location: Minneapolis, US

Posted 28 March 2007 - 12:53

If someone isn't planning on overclocking a Core 2 Duo/Quad, is there a good reason to replace the stock cooler? From what I've seen, it does a decent job of keeping it cool. The only thing I could think of would be the noise.

And while were on it, can someone recommend a good cooler that is fairly inexpensive, not too large, and is quiet?

Thanks.


#2 MrBear5587

MrBear5587

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-March 04
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 28 March 2007 - 12:55

I'd say no.

I'm using the stock cooler with my Core 2 Duo E6300 overclocked from 1.8 -> 2.4GHz and the temps are still fine. (40C load).
However I'm getting a Freezer 7 Pro to go on there so I can overclock as much as poss.
But its really a waste of cash if you're not intending to OC.

#3 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 28 March 2007 - 12:56

I would replace the default cooler on the Quads as they reach 83c with the stock cooler when all cores are at 100% load. but for the Dual Core models the stock fan is adequate for non-OC use.

#4 lammmetak

lammmetak

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Location: Gemert, The Netherlands

Posted 28 March 2007 - 12:56

note: i haven't overclocked for a while
in the time i bought my amd 3200+ the stock cooler was able to clock over for about 7 tot 10 % it depends on how far you go . more money = further
i would recommend to look @ www.tomshardware.com they always have nice reviews.

#5 NienorGT

NienorGT

    Nee-Heh-Nor GeeTee

  • Joined: 10-August 04
  • Location: Quebec / Canada
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 28 March 2007 - 12:58

Unless for getting a more silent one, the stock cooler on any retail CPUs are certified to keep the CPU in the temperatures considered as normal by Intel for the speed considerated (IE: No Overclock). But if you live where it's really hot you may prefer getting a better cooler to avoid problems if they occur.

#6 Digitalx

Digitalx

    Antz007x

  • Joined: 26-June 05
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • OS: Windows 7 & Android

Posted 28 March 2007 - 13:04

thats like asking nienor is power necessary for a pc to boot-up :rofl: j/k

anyway zalman's or thermaltakes coolers always good imo.

#7 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 28 March 2007 - 13:56

It's too loud in my opinion. I replaced my stock cooler with a Scythe Infinity; it's much quieter now.

#8 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    Pax Orbis

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: The Heartland
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 28 March 2007 - 14:42

I stopped using stock CPU coolers about 3-4 years ago. I just hate them.

#9 cloudstrife13

cloudstrife13

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-August 05
  • Location: MB, Canada

Posted 28 March 2007 - 20:33

By the title I thought you were asking if you can run a CPU without a heatsink/fan at all and I was like "OMG NOOOOOO". But now I see your only talking about if something better then stock is necessary.

If your over clocking then yes you need something beyond stock, if not then you may want to because you can get coolers that are just heat sinks and this will cut down your noise, or so you can feel safer about your temperature levels.