Jump to content



Photo

firefox causes cpu usage 100% won't open


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 CrisCr0ss

CrisCr0ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-February 05
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 05 May 2009 - 05:02

My computer has been acting up lately and i believe its the hard drive thats going down hill, I will be taking it into staples to use my laptop warranty. In the mean time I have a lot of stuff on my firefox that I would like to backup but has become impossible.

After doing a disk check and fixing all errors, my computer has more or less been working fine with minor freezes. However, firefox is the only app that refuses to function properly and as a result i cannot backup any of my stuff.

I would like to store all my passwords/bookmarks/history/cookies/settings/extensions however do to the fact that I cannot even open firefox without causing my computer to hang i have no idea what to do. I tried running firefox in safe mode with the same problem. I tried installing the beta same problem. I haven't uninstalled reinstalled in fears i will lose everything (which i think i will)

What is it you guys reccomend as i begin the long process of backing up my stuff before i take into staples to send to toshiba.


#2 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 05 May 2009 - 05:06

Well 2 things you could try- If you can get into firefox- and it loads-- use addon FEBE to backup your data and email it to yourself.

Alternatively- since it is a hard drive acting up- you may want to consider a linux live version - either ubuntu or puppy linux- to continue to use it until you can get it fixed- Not to mention you can use it to email the files you want to yourself or copy them over to a flash drive. I suggest the linux because it can run in memory and may be able to access the user files without running on them.

#3 OP CrisCr0ss

CrisCr0ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-February 05
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 05 May 2009 - 06:41

yea was thinking that. I can backup all or at least most of my stuff via windows but i'm talking bout backing up my firefox goods. are they in a specific location that i can backup im not so worried about my extensions as much as my passwords/cookies/bookmarks if i could back those up by other means that'd be great.

Maybe you can provide the location for these files? (im on vista)

I have a feeling my bookmarks are in my profile folder (which i know where it is) but my other stuff i have no real clue where they are located

#4 Gary2MBz

Gary2MBz

    Sneakier than your worst nightmare.

  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • Location: Somewhere in LA...
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro x64
  • Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 32GB - White & Silver

Posted 05 May 2009 - 06:45

yea was thinking that. I can backup all or at least most of my stuff via windows but i'm talking bout backing up my firefox goods. are they in a specific location that i can backup im not so worried about my extensions as much as my passwords/cookies/bookmarks if i could back those up by other means that'd be great.

Maybe you can provide the location for these files? (im on vista)

I have a feeling my bookmarks are in my profile folder (which i know where it is) but my other stuff i have no real clue where they are located

%userprofile%\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles exactly like that

you want to save the xxxxxxxxx.default folder and place it back there on a new install, delete any other existing xxxxxxx.default folder and place yours in there. It contains all your Firefox bookmarks, history, options, icon setup, etc.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!