Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 with purple BG


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#106 +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 21 September 2011 - 00:17

How do you get the weather tile to display the weather in the Metro desktop like in the picture? The only way I can get the weather to show is click on the tile and it takes me to the a full screen.
I would like to have the weather showing in the tile always on the Metro.

I don't know what I did but I also got the tiles showing the weather too.

However, although I am in Hong Kong, it just shows the weather in Anaheim, I've check thoroughly that the location and time zones etc were correctly set. :blink:


#107 jeffbar1

jeffbar1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 11

Posted 21 September 2011 - 00:48

I don't know what I did but I also got the tiles showing the weather too.

However, although I am in Hong Kong, it just shows the weather in Anaheim, I've check thoroughly that the location and time zones etc were correctly set. :blink:



If you are using a netbook with 1024x600 res tile info is not supported. change reg key Display1_DownScalingSupported to 1 and then up resolution to 1024x768. this is my guess

#108 +FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 21 September 2011 - 01:20

If you are using a netbook with 1024x600 res tile info is not supported. change reg key Display1_DownScalingSupported to 1 and then up resolution to 1024x768. this is my guess

Tks for advice, however, I am on desktop 1024x768. As I don't need the weather tile so I'll leave it after testing the other win8 features. :cool:

#109 wahoospa

wahoospa

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-July 07
  • Location: South Carolina

Posted 21 September 2011 - 01:25

When I set the tile to double size I get the weather on the tile. But some have shown the weather on normal size tiles.

#110 jeffbar1

jeffbar1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 11

Posted 21 September 2011 - 02:02

He asked why the Immersive/Metro experience is "so incomplete and lackluster." The correct response to that is "It's a developer preview."


what a pointless reply. Are you trying to make fun of him? How about figuring out how to enable missing features like smaller or larger tiles?

#111 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 21 September 2011 - 17:00

You can't enable something that is probably not in there at all, if it's just locked them maybe there's a way but if people think the options are "stripped" out then that means the code itself isn't there. I mean really all it takes for the start screen in the dev preview to go away is removing one dll file for example. So to that extent MS could've left out key dll files that are needed, without those there's nothing we can really do.

#112 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 21 September 2011 - 19:35

the thing about it being a "developer preview" is it also has to convince the developers weather or not it is worth developing for. if they think the interface is bad enough they won't wanna touch it with a 10 ft pole. they have to like it enough to be passionate enough to develop for it.

#113 vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 22 September 2011 - 15:11

what a pointless reply. Are you trying to make fun of him? How about figuring out how to enable missing features like smaller or larger tiles?

As GP007 mentioned, you can't enable something that likely isn't there. He asked why the experience is incomplete and lackluster, so I'm pointing out that more may be to come; features that cannot be unlocked. It wasn't a pointless reply. Asking why a developer preview (one that isn't even at beta stage) is incomplete is pointless and ridiculous.

#114 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 23 September 2011 - 20:10

Thanks. Though I was hoping for a blue version of the original background as I'm not a big fan of the tiles. :(


There's the Windows 8 Tweaker on deviantART - you can make the background color any choice that Windows' color-wheel supports (or a customized color) - I went with aluminum-gray background and a Spitzer shot from NASA SpaceScapes Windows 7 themepack as the StartScreen background. For the desktop background itself, I chose (also from the Microsoft Windows 7 ThemePack collection) the Lightning ThemePack.

#115 dmkc

dmkc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-January 14

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:15

epic epic bump - but - does anyone still have this background by any chance? I'd love to use it but all the deviantart links are dead :(



#116 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:18

epic epic bump - but - does anyone still have this background by any chance? I'd love to use it but all the deviantart links are dead :(

I just saw the original post and would love a link to this as well, looks amazing!



#117 dmkc

dmkc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-January 14

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:20

I just saw the original post and would love a link to this as well, looks amazing!

 

It really does - I saw the background somewhere and have been playing google detective for about an hour to end up here.... should've guessed it'd be Panda X really shouldn't I haha !



#118 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:26

Found a blue background version
Would really like the purple one thou

http://mahirh.devian...ery:mahirh&qo=2 <-- blue.

 

Also - its for Windows 8 developer preview only. 



#119 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:47

Will this work?

 

PurpleBG.png

 



#120 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:50

Will this work?

 

attachicon.gifPurpleBG.png

For the time being until a live BG becomes available :p





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!