Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Release Preview Discussion

win8 windows 8 release preview release candidate rc beta

  • Please log in to reply
1057 replies to this topic

#31 rfirth

rfirth

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-September 09
  • Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 620

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:51

Question: When installing, if it give you the option to install without copying programs and files... is this like the old custom install? Will it just copy my documents into C:\Windows.old like previous versions?

yeah lucas just drag & drop the files onto usb & boot from usb

That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.


#32 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:57

during installation some error : missing media driver ???

#33 x-scratch

x-scratch

    whaaaaaaaat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 03
  • Location: gnome panel

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:58

during installation some error : missing media driver ???


how are you installing ?

#34 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:00

That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.

Yes it does.

As long as you set the partition to active in diskpart that's how I reinstall Windows 7 when I have to.

#35 Lucas

Lucas

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-September 02

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:00

Question: When installing, if it give you the option to install without copying programs and files... is this like the old custom install? Will it just copy my documents into C:\Windows.old like previous versions?


That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.


I've already found an official Microsoft application that makes a bootable Windows 8 USB. :) Thanks though!

#36 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:03

can someone please help me with serial. I have typed it in correctly and checked like 100 times but it always says its cannot be verified. I cant even continue installation now.

#37 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:03

how are you installing ?



usb stick,DVD same error ...

#38 OP Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:06

can someone please help me with serial. I have typed it in correctly and checked like 100 times but it always says its cannot be verified. I cant even continue installation now.


Didn't you get the key from the page? If you got TechNet then obviously get your keys there:

Product Key: TK8TP-9JN6P-7X7WW-RFFTV-B7QPF



#39 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:08

Didn't you get the key from the page? If you got TechNet then obviously get your keys there:

I did get it from the page but it doesnt work. I dont know what else to try.

#40 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:10

could it be due to me trying to install it on vmware?

#41 x-scratch

x-scratch

    whaaaaaaaat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 03
  • Location: gnome panel

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:11

usb stick,DVD same error ...


i installed the 64bit using a usb stick. i just extracted the files to a folder then dragged the files onto usb stick without any problems installed in 10 mins

#42 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:16

how are you installing ?


this :


Posted Image

#43 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:17

thats weird just closed everything down and tried to reboot again and it works fine :s.

#44 EmbraceNext

EmbraceNext

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:19

Workstation 8 running on Windows 7


I am trying to do the same by Win8 isn't seeing the drives to install. Did you run across that or did the drive show for you?

http://www.embracene...-05-31_1718.png

#45 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:29

Installed in less than 12 minutes on AMD Athlon X2 255 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HDD.
Occupies 15.7 GB space. Less than CP.

Very responsive.