Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Release Preview Discussion

win8 windows 8 release preview release candidate rc beta

  • Please log in to reply
1057 replies to this topic

#31 rfirth

rfirth

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-September 09
  • Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 620

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:51

Question: When installing, if it give you the option to install without copying programs and files... is this like the old custom install? Will it just copy my documents into C:\Windows.old like previous versions?

yeah lucas just drag & drop the files onto usb & boot from usb

That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.


#32 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:57

during installation some error : missing media driver ???

#33 x-scratch

x-scratch

    whaaaaaaaat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 03
  • Location: gnome panel

Posted 31 May 2012 - 20:58

during installation some error : missing media driver ???


how are you installing ?

#34 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:00

That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.

Yes it does.

As long as you set the partition to active in diskpart that's how I reinstall Windows 7 when I have to.

#35 Lucas

Lucas

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-September 02

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:00

Question: When installing, if it give you the option to install without copying programs and files... is this like the old custom install? Will it just copy my documents into C:\Windows.old like previous versions?


That doesn't work, does it. Doesn't write the boot sector on the USB drive.


I've already found an official Microsoft application that makes a bootable Windows 8 USB. :) Thanks though!

#36 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:03

can someone please help me with serial. I have typed it in correctly and checked like 100 times but it always says its cannot be verified. I cant even continue installation now.

#37 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:03

how are you installing ?



usb stick,DVD same error ...

#38 OP Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: NYC & Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:06

can someone please help me with serial. I have typed it in correctly and checked like 100 times but it always says its cannot be verified. I cant even continue installation now.


Didn't you get the key from the page? If you got TechNet then obviously get your keys there:

Product Key: TK8TP-9JN6P-7X7WW-RFFTV-B7QPF



#39 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:08

Didn't you get the key from the page? If you got TechNet then obviously get your keys there:

I did get it from the page but it doesnt work. I dont know what else to try.

#40 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:10

could it be due to me trying to install it on vmware?

#41 x-scratch

x-scratch

    whaaaaaaaat

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 03
  • Location: gnome panel

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:11

usb stick,DVD same error ...


i installed the 64bit using a usb stick. i just extracted the files to a folder then dragged the files onto usb stick without any problems installed in 10 mins

#42 Dado2009

Dado2009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:16

how are you installing ?


this :


Posted Image

#43 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:17

thats weird just closed everything down and tried to reboot again and it works fine :s.

#44 EmbraceNext

EmbraceNext

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:19

Workstation 8 running on Windows 7


I am trying to do the same by Win8 isn't seeing the drives to install. Did you run across that or did the drive show for you?

http://www.embracene...-05-31_1718.png

#45 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:29

Installed in less than 12 minutes on AMD Athlon X2 255 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HDD.
Occupies 15.7 GB space. Less than CP.

Very responsive.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!