Jump to content



Photo

Cheap fully modular power supplies?

psu power supply fully modular

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#31 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 September 2012 - 17:46

There is a reason modular supplies are a premium, there are some cheapish ones but its still an oxymoron to me. I quality PS will outlast much pricer components over the duration of your rig.


#32 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 01 September 2012 - 18:02

I think the biggest factor is warranty, your PSU will pop at some point, my Corsair TX950 popped after just a few months, replaced without any problem (apart from me having to install all the cables AGAIN)

#33 CronicHazel

CronicHazel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 06

Posted 01 September 2012 - 18:30

Back when I was researching for PSUs when I built my rig, I heard a lot more bad things about OCZ PSU's than Antec or Corsair ones, just something that I've noticed. A lot of people have been complaining about Modstreams crapping out.

#34 +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 01 September 2012 - 20:39

As above, i would personally go with Corsair. Fantastic support.

#35 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 September 2012 - 23:22

Don't people have modern cases where you keep all the cables under the mobo plate today anyway.

#36 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 September 2012 - 23:26

Don't people have modern cases where you keep all the cables under the mobo plate today anyway.


Sounds like an expensive kind of case.

#37 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 September 2012 - 23:31

Sounds like an expensive kind of case.


Pretty standard on all mid end and even some low end cases today.

#38 +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:25

For example this - http://www.ebuyer.co...-761345-15970-8

I use them on my clients PC's, brilliant little case and so light!

#39 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 September 2012 - 11:49

Don't people have modern cases where you keep all the cables under the mobo plate today anyway.


Mobo plate ?

The side of the case where my mobo is comes off, and I have my cables inside that space cable tied to the chassis but when you see the thickness and sheer number of cables the TX950 has, and even the size of my case (HAF922) it is still a mission to get the side back on

#40 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 03 September 2012 - 16:16

I have a HAF 912 and I don't have a problem with the cables. I place most of them flat n the back if theyre unused, and some of the PSU cables I bundle up in the little OS in front of the PSU for convenience. But there's room for aloof them on the back if I flatten them properly and roll them up.