Jump to content



Photo

Notifications on Main Page

request

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 03 September 2012 - 00:19

Would it be possible to have the notifications added to the main page and not just the forums? Most of the time I visit neowin from the main page, and then go to the forums. This way I can see new topics, and new articles in one view. However, to see if anyone has replied to main page topics and the forums, I have to go to the forums. It's not a big deal, but seeing everything from the main page would be appreciated.

Thanks.


#2 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:13

If it can be done, we'll add it. I've already asked Redmak to look into it.

#3 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:18

Shameless plug: http://www.neowin.ne...__fromsearch__1

For the record, that was back in December as well. It's now...September...lol

#4 OP Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 03 September 2012 - 17:52

I even searched to see if this was requested before. I wonder if it's because I searched for notifications instead of notification, or if the result was on the second page which I didn't go to.

#5 oliver182

oliver182

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 10
  • Location: Mexico
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Alcatel OneTouch Idol Ultra

Posted 03 September 2012 - 18:10

I think the same, we need them on the main page :)

#6 Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 03 September 2012 - 18:18

Actually I have thought of this in the past, it would be really nice to see notifications on the front page too.

#7 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 03 September 2012 - 19:43

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)

#8 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 04 September 2012 - 01:49

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)


Absolutely fantastic!

#9 Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 04 September 2012 - 02:11

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)


Great news!

#10 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 04 September 2012 - 12:07

This is brilliant!

#11 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:33

It's added :)

#12 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:53

Excellent! It seems so natural, I just came on and looked at my notifications on the main page and didn't even realise I had done so till I noticed this thread :p

Whoever coded it did a nice job, looks much nicer than the one on the forum :)

#13 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:54

Posted Image
I get this error when clicking the notifications button on the front page...

#14 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:01

Yeah I'm getting the error now too, was working for me a couple of minutes ago.

I clicked it so many times to see the animation that I broke it :p

#15 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:08

Seems to be fine now...

Do you plan to add the same animation to the forums for consistency?