Jump to content



Photo

Notifications on Main Page

request

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 +Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 03 September 2012 - 00:19

Would it be possible to have the notifications added to the main page and not just the forums? Most of the time I visit neowin from the main page, and then go to the forums. This way I can see new topics, and new articles in one view. However, to see if anyone has replied to main page topics and the forums, I have to go to the forums. It's not a big deal, but seeing everything from the main page would be appreciated.

Thanks.


#2 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:13

If it can be done, we'll add it. I've already asked Redmak to look into it.

#3 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:18

Shameless plug: http://www.neowin.ne...__fromsearch__1

For the record, that was back in December as well. It's now...September...lol

#4 OP +Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 03 September 2012 - 17:52

I even searched to see if this was requested before. I wonder if it's because I searched for notifications instead of notification, or if the result was on the second page which I didn't go to.

#5 oliver182

oliver182

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 10
  • Location: Mexico
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Alcatel OneTouch Idol Ultra

Posted 03 September 2012 - 18:10

I think the same, we need them on the main page :)

#6 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 03 September 2012 - 18:18

Actually I have thought of this in the past, it would be really nice to see notifications on the front page too.

#7 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 34
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 03 September 2012 - 19:43

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)

#8 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 04 September 2012 - 01:49

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)


Absolutely fantastic!

#9 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 04 September 2012 - 02:11

This will be added soon (because it's almost done)


Great news!

#10 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 04 September 2012 - 12:07

This is brilliant!

#11 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:33

It's added :)

#12 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:53

Excellent! It seems so natural, I just came on and looked at my notifications on the main page and didn't even realise I had done so till I noticed this thread :p

Whoever coded it did a nice job, looks much nicer than the one on the forum :)

#13 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:54

Posted Image
I get this error when clicking the notifications button on the front page...

#14 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:01

Yeah I'm getting the error now too, was working for me a couple of minutes ago.

I clicked it so many times to see the animation that I broke it :p

#15 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:08

Seems to be fine now...

Do you plan to add the same animation to the forums for consistency?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!