Jump to content



Photo

Locking threads over tagging issues

bug

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 24 September 2012 - 23:36

I use an Android to post jokes in the Jokes section. There is not tagging option like that of the full version. I can't see the full version as it keeps resolving to the mobile version. I posted about this issue and Neobond responded telling me to use the brackets. So now an uncompromising individual keeps locking my threads cause he stated that it's too much trouble to correct.

My thread here is about the bugs in this, not the locking per se. (I pm'd Neobond for backing up my claim on what he said)

Here are my suggestions for fixing things: One of the first two should fix it.

1. Fix the tagging issue in your mobile site
2. Fix the desktop version button so it does actually show full version.
3. If not possible; then extend the edit time frame to allow the person to fix it themselves.


#2 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 September 2012 - 00:39

I feel your pain. I hate the mobile version and will only use it when I have no other option. Not helpful at all, I know.

#3 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:14

yeah even Opera is doing the same thing in the forums but not on the home page. I spent more time accessing the internet with my phone than I do with my PC.

#4 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:22

I can only view the full version on android mobile firefox and mobile firefox is as bloated at the desktop version..... and it does not let me post on the board... another reason I promptly removed it from my droid.... Firefox team needs to see this it's thier problem and not IPBs. arrrg. vbulletin forrums and xen foro forums does that too as well...

#5 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:27

What I don't understand is why that use first tag as prefix, is not automatic -- easy to forget to check it.

#6 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:34

But Hum, the issue is that it's not shown in the mobile version.

#7 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:49

I feel your pain, it's flipping inconsistent and to be honest, I know we have a pretty sweet mobile skin, but it lacks many, many features that are either subjectively or objectively important.

I think in the smartphone age and some phones even getting as big as past 5" and the most common lower limit being 3.5", we should definitely get more features even at the cost of a tad more scrolling or so.

It's pretty ridiculous especially considering how there is no action taken whatsoever to either support Tapatalk (I know why, no problem), IPB Communities App is a non-working piece of crap and a dedicated Neowin app, now that'd be AWESOME, but likely won't ever happen.

And yeah, the switch to full version button is beyond ridiculous, might as well remove it altogether as it's just not working at all any time on my end with ANY browser or ANY phone I tested it with.

Step it up!
I know the devs are probably not doing nothing on Neowin and they have lives of their own, but if such show stopper problems exist for such a long time, it raises some eyebrows at least. :unsure:

Glassed Silver:mac

#8 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:59

forumrunnner would be nice I have it on an IPB commnity I manage. It installed easy and it was free to admins. works very smooth on my droid and mine's a cheap one...

#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:03

But Hum, the issue is that it's not shown in the mobile version.

no it's not the main issue but it's still an issue.
if they want us to use that feature everytime why not just have the box checked by default then we won't have to worry about forgetting to check it

#10 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 25 September 2012 - 21:06

Tags should show up on mobile now.

Let me know if it does not work, kinda hacky way of adding it in.

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 25 September 2012 - 21:09

Simple, stop posting jokes

#12 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 25 September 2012 - 21:27

Tags should show up on mobile now.

Let me know if it does not work, kinda hacky way of adding it in.

Yes works perfectly :) (Y)