Jump to content



Photo

WTF kind of Ram is this?!?

hardware help ram computers

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:11

Hey Guys


My friend gave me a bunch of his old computer stuff. I've been able to salvage and identify everything else but what you see below. Take a look at this. I've never seen anything like it. I think it's ram but not sure. There are no tags or serials on it, so I can't look it up. It's like ram on steroids! (3rd Pic) Sorry for the bad pics. The only camera I have is my iPod touch. :(

Thanks for your help! You guys are life savers!!!! :)

Side 1:

IMG_0008.JPG

Side 2:

IMG_0009.JPG

Comparison to DDR 2

IMG_0011.JPG


#2 azspeedbullet

azspeedbullet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 12

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:12

looks like the older style pc 100/133 ram

#3 TheElite

TheElite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-July 03

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:14

looks like the older style pc 100/133 ram


I don't think it is.

#4 duddit2

duddit2

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-January 10
  • Location: Manchester UK
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:15

that be SD RAM, Not DDR or DDR2 or DDR3, just plain old SD Ram.

#5 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:15

what does it say on there? I assume you tried just typing everything into google?

#6 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:16

It looks like standard PC100/133 SDRAM to me as well, the pins and the notches look about right.

It could even be some really late DRAM, but I doubt it.

#7 BigDavy

BigDavy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-June 11
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:17

It looks like some kind of PC100 or PC133 SDRAM - I'm guessing that this memory module came from a server that uses registered/ECC memory.

#8 Michael Lacey

Michael Lacey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-November 06
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:26

2 notches is SDRAM usually.. but that has a lot of chips on it so I'm going to go with a regular DIMM.

#9 duddit2

duddit2

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-January 10
  • Location: Manchester UK
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:31

that's a good point about it being from a server (registered/EEC memory) as there does seem to be a lot of chips/capacity.

#10 zivan56

zivan56

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Vancouver, BC

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:36

Its ECC SDRAM. Notice the big chip in the centre, that's a telltale sign. Usually the only chip, apart from the RAM itself, is a tiny one (about less than 0.5x05cm) on the side.

#11 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:39

OK. I i did some more digging around in the boxes he gave me and I found a whole stack of it, some with tags on them. How manny MB do you guys think they are? What year?

Tag:
IMG_0013.JPG

Again I apologize for the quality. The tag says this ( I kept the format as written on the tag):

MT36LD3272G-5x EDO
US 9943n

-barcode is here-

1384-005 s00xnnk ud 3n **

Is this usable? What Mobo and Processor would I need or is it just too old?

#12 EyEvil

EyEvil

    I let the dogs out!

  • Joined: 14-September 03
  • Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:39

Might be some kind of Rambus ram

#13 azspeedbullet

azspeedbullet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 12

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:43

MT36LD3272G-5x EDO
US 9943n

i googled, and i found this:
http://www.pchub.com...ory-Module.html
http://www.archmemor...in-43567-129136

it looks like it is also registered ram too, might be hard to find a motherboard that can work with that

#14 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:47

it looks like it is also registered ram too, might be hard to find a motherboard that can work with that


I'm sorry, but, what do you mean by "registered"? Is it a very special type of ram designed for a specific mobo?

Edit: Heh. I looked it up. What type of mobo and processor would I need? Is it worth using it? Just Junk?

http://en.wikipedia....gistered_memory

#15 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:48

I found this too: http://www.memoryten...8p-50nsB-256MB/