Jump to content



Photo

Freeview signal, whats the deal ?

freeview signal bad

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:42

Not long ago terrestrial signal was stopped and they boosted our freeview, I'm under the impression that we get all of our channels from the same transmitter.

So my question is, why do around about 3-4 channels (My favourite ones) show the blocks that digital does when there is either a bad signal or interference when the rest are fine ?


#2 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,281 posts
  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:53

Not all channels are transmitted at the same frequency and not all frequencies are boosted the same amount, go to http://www.ukfree.tv and put your postcode in on the right hand side, it will show you what coverage you have, you may be in an area with bad reception. The channels you are having problems with might be on the same mux/frequency which might not be transmitting at full power for whatever reason hence why only a few channels have problems.

#3 u2_storm

u2_storm

    Some IT person...

  • 388 posts
  • Joined: 29-March 05
  • Location: Mobile Worker,UK

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:55

They are the same transmitter but at different frequencies, you might need to check the aerial is in the correct direction , old cabling could be another issue, is it brown or black?

#4 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:58

Not all channels are transmitted at the same frequency and not all frequencies are boosted the same amount, go to http://www.ukfree.tv and put your postcode in on the right hand side, it will show you what coverage you have, you may be in an area with bad reception. The channels you are having problems with might be on the same mux/frequency which might not be transmitting at full power for whatever reason hence why only a few channels have problems.

They are the same transmitter but at different frequencies, you might need to check the aerial is in the correct direction , old cabling could be another issue, is it brown or black?


Ah I see, never even thought about frequencies but makes sense thinking about wifi, thanks :)

And yes my area had a bad reception before they made the change, looks like I will invest in a booster

At bold text - It's black :)

#5 u2_storm

u2_storm

    Some IT person...

  • 388 posts
  • Joined: 29-March 05
  • Location: Mobile Worker,UK

Posted 21 October 2012 - 13:54

black cable is good.... as TheLegendOfMart have a look on the website.

#6 CG-88

CG-88

    ||Modified||

  • 756 posts
  • Joined: 16-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Lumia 625

Posted 21 October 2012 - 14:08

Not long ago terrestrial signal was stopped and they boosted our freeview, I'm under the impression that we get all of our channels from the same transmitter.

So my question is, why do around about 3-4 channels (My favourite ones) show the blocks that digital does when there is either a bad signal or interference when the rest are fine ?


As someone said there are tonnes of transmitters all around the UK. And that website is good to see engineering works/frequencies for multiplexes etc. :)