Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:41

I have a MSI board that has UEFI, I installed windows 8 on it for the first time (clean install) when the system boots it shows the MSI logo with the press DEL for Setup F11 for boot menu etc..... full screen bitmap image...

well when you go to the UEFI loading screen for windows with the looping circles at the bottom, where the windows logo use to be in windows 7 now is showing the UEFI Boot logo for the MSI board...

is it supose to do this? It's almost like MS assumed the UEFI boot logo is the company logo and nothing else will be shown there kinda like how apple does it with the gray apple logo on the OS load

of course the keys DEL and F11 do nothing while this is showing...

so instead of this...

Win8boot.png

you get somethign like this (i made this image up so its not entirely correct, no press buttons for are shown on it)

Win8bootMSI.png


#2 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:48

I can't answer your question, but I hope EVGA sorts out its EFI driver for the 670-cards soon so I can try it out myself! :)

#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:54

I can't answer your question, but I hope EVGA sorts out its EFI driver for the 670-cards soon so I can try it out myself! :)


Just did a quick search because i wasn't sure what you were talking about, it looks like there is a problem with EFI booting on some Nvidia cards, but it only looks like a OSX Lion issue?

#4 notchinese

notchinese

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-October 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:56

I think that is by design. I turned off the boot logo on my ASUS board.

#5 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:00

I also on that same system every so many seconds it makes that ding noise like it found new hardware... its been doing that for an hour now... almost like its changing hardware drivers one at a time... reboot didn't fix it..

of course no notifications of new hardware, nothing in the system tray showing the hardware found icon, nothing showing as changing in device manager while watching that...

I think that is by design. I turned off the boot logo on my ASUS board.


turning off the boot logo does nothing, still shows that image on the boot of windows

#6 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:01

Just did a quick search because i wasn't sure what you were talking about, it looks like there is a problem with EFI booting on some Nvidia cards, but it only looks like a OSX Lion issue?

Nah, it's disabled in their current firmware because they haven't been able to verify stability with all motherboards... or something of the sort. They've apparently implemented some necessary bits but still waiting. :D

#7 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 31 October 2012 - 18:16

MSI claims they made windows 8 :p
But I think this might be fixed with a bios firmware upgrade?

#8 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 21:13

MSI claims they made windows 8 :p
But I think this might be fixed with a bios firmware upgrade?


I think MS is somehow reading the UEFI boot logo as the vendor logo, maybe MSI hasn't but a vendor logo in yet or something and its just taking the boot logo as the vendor logo?.. going to have to post on the MSI forum about this

#9 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 31 October 2012 - 21:50

Seems like most UEFI boards are doing this. Not sure how to disable it, but it doesn't bother me as the ASUS ROG Logo is nice and simple. I would go nuts though if I had to look at that obnoxious ****. OMG MILITARY QUALITY, DON'T YOU FEEL SPECIAL! LOLZ! :p

#10 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 21:59

Windows 8 allows the hardware manufacturer to customize the boot experience. I believe it's even the UEFI that draws it through the whole process (not the progress spinner itself though).

#11 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 22:18

Seems like most UEFI boards are doing this. Not sure how to disable it, but it doesn't bother me as the ASUS ROG Logo is nice and simple. I would go nuts though if I had to look at that obnoxious ****. OMG MILITARY QUALITY, DON'T YOU FEEL SPECIAL! LOLZ! :p


As someone who also owns an Asus ROG board, I haven't seen that in Windows 8 and I used UEFI. Do you have to turn it on in the BIOS?

#12 Gary2MBz

Gary2MBz

    Sneakier than your worst nightmare.

  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • Location: Somewhere in LA...
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro x64
  • Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 32GB - White & Silver

Posted 31 October 2012 - 22:23

As someone who also owns an Asus ROG board, I haven't seen that in Windows 8 and I used UEFI. Do you have to turn it on in the BIOS?


Same but using a Sabertooth Z77 board on version 1616. I'd like to know as well

#13 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 23:58

I'm just curious if its customizable at all if it is by design

#14 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 01 November 2012 - 00:49

As someone who also owns an Asus ROG board, I haven't seen that in Windows 8 and I used UEFI. Do you have to turn it on in the BIOS?

I saw it on my rampage IV for the first time after updating my bios about 2 months ago.

#15 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 01 November 2012 - 03:25

Ironically just got a new bios available notification from MSI... and it now has a "Windows 8" bios configuration section, and when you turn that on, the Military class blah blah logo is replaced by just "MSI" and enables Graphics Output Protocol video modes instead of UGA