Jump to content



Photo

[Fixed] Mobile Skin & The Front Page

question

  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#16 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:37

You're just holding it wrong.

Steve.


#17 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:39

LOL


It does feel different though. Never knew you could slide the news titles (never needed that :p)

#18 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:39

Sounds like Steve is planning a re-brand called iWin ;)

#19 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:52

Wouldn't it be possible to provide sort of an option? I think it's annoying to have to swipe over titles ten times to be able to read them. Having them wrapped just allows me to scroll down the page (which is a lot smoother).

#20 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 19 November 2012 - 16:59

I never understood why Timan and the others were so opposed to just having the titles wrap

#21 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 19 November 2012 - 17:05

It's been scrollable for months....

#22 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 19 November 2012 - 20:01

Wouldn't it be possible to provide sort of an option? I think it's annoying to have to swipe over titles ten times to be able to read them. Having them wrapped just allows me to scroll down the page (which is a lot smoother).


Rotate your phone on its side, you'll get the complete headline and the excerpt of the story.

#23 OP FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Resident Fat Dude

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 19 November 2012 - 20:21

Rotate your phone on its side, you'll get the complete headline and the excerpt of the story.


Here's a better idea, stop ruining the mobile skin and put it back as it was yesterday. Who the hell wants to have to scroll every news item just to read the title, it's just dumb. Also, why should we have to change how we choose to browse? I prefer my phone in portrait mode for browsing and I'm not changing that for one site.

#24 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 19 November 2012 - 20:59

Here's a better idea, stop ruining the mobile skin and put it back as it was yesterday. Who the hell wants to have to scroll every news item just to read the title, it's just dumb. Also, why should we have to change how we choose to browse? I prefer my phone in portrait mode for browsing and I'm not changing that for one site.


Like i said before, nothing has been changed mobile. The last update which BROUGHT the scrolling headlines was done in June. So if you're not happy with the mobile version that we graciously provide, feel free to use the desktop version. This is how its designed to be, you can't make everyone happy but this is how it will remain.

Just pretend its metro? :rolleyes:

#25 OP FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Resident Fat Dude

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 November 2012 - 05:42

Like I said, new phone here so no cache issues, yet the skin was not like this 2 days ago. Clearly, you DID change something, and others on this thread seem to agree.

Oh, and nice bit of support there... Not.

#26 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 20 November 2012 - 05:48

Like I said, new phone here so no cache issues, yet the skin was not like this 2 days ago. Clearly, you DID change something, and others on this thread seem to agree.

Oh, and nice bit of support there... Not.


Odds are you would probably have more luck if you tried asking nicely.

#27 OP FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Resident Fat Dude

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 November 2012 - 05:51

I did; then he got rude and arrogant, which is no way to talk to your users.

#28 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:02

No...he explained that it has been this way for months...which is a fact. I'll stop here though...since we'll just end up having the same argument and you'll call me rude and arrogant by the end of it.

#29 OP FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Resident Fat Dude

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:27

IF it were a fact, then can you explain why a 1 month old device, using the mobile skin, was showing wrapped headlines instead of the scrolling ones, up until 2 days ago? Things like that just don't happen without someone changing something first.

#30 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:19

Can't explain it. However I can verify that the change did happen months ago. Every single mobile device I own has shown the new version for months.

Maybe just something weird with your particular device like a rendering bug where it was showing the landscape view on portrait.