Jump to content



Photo

Netflix metro app problems

help netflix metro app

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 22 November 2012 - 13:27

I have recently signed up for a months free trial of NetFlix (I originally went to the site to buy it, but noticed the trial and thought I'd give it a go first)
I can use the browser based player fine and all works well, even surprised how well! My connection usually isnt great for streaming but I can use netflix on the medium "better" setting at 0.7GB/hour.

Anyway, I downloaded the metro netflix app. I can start it up, browse all videos, click play. But when the video loader gets to 98% and the message appears "setting up video player". The app crashes and sends me back to the start screen.
2 errors appear in event viewer - they don't mean much to me so here they are:
1. Source: .NET Runtime
Application: Netflix.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: System.Exception
Stack:
   at System.Runtime.ExceptionServices.ExceptionDispatchInfo.Throw()
   at System.Threading.WinRTSynchronizationContext+Invoker.<InvokeCore>b__0(System.Object)
   at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.WaitCallback_Context(System.Object)
   at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
   at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
   at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()
   at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()
   at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()

2. Source: Application Error
Faulting application name: Netflix.exe, version: 1.1.0.28, time stamp: 0x50a4088d
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.2.9200.16384, time stamp: 0x5010acfa
Exception code: 0xe0434352
Fault offset: 0x0001277c
Faulting process id: 0x15c0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cdc8b4505e181d
Faulting application path: E:\Program Files\WindowsApps\4DF9E0F8.Netflix_1.1.0.28_x86__mcm4njqhnhss8\Netflix.exe
Faulting module path: E:\Windows\system32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: 99a3aacd-34a7-11e2-afba-701a04004758
Faulting package full name: 4DF9E0F8.Netflix_1.1.0.28_x86__mcm4njqhnhss8
Faulting package-relative application ID: App

(My win install is on E: in case that confuses anyone. I messed up during install and have installed too much stuff now to bother formatting for the sake of a drive letter)


#2 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 23 November 2012 - 00:23

Update:
I have installed a few driver updates since my last post and done a restart. (specifically my graphic driver was one)
One of those two things has fixed my problem and the app now works :)

#3 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 27 November 2012 - 14:36

Another update.
Once I start my system, the Netflix metro app works.
However, if I close it and re-open it again, it will crash every time until I restart. Then again, it will work once until it is closed.

So still looking for help with the issue in the first post. I have tried digging around Event Viewer and problem reports but can't seem to get much information from them. Currently downloading debugging tools to open the .DMP file and have a look although I'm not expecting to get much information from that as i think it's just a Microsoft error report

#4 Kriz

Kriz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-September 02
  • Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 27 November 2012 - 14:55

Had problems with Netflix app loading on my and my bro's PS3 the other day, crashing my ps3 completely! Went onto online chat, they suggested a few things id already tried, uninstall/reinstalll, deacivate all devices etc, still didnt work. Suggestion number 2 from Netflix, connect your ps3s using a wired connection? No, 100% signal on both on wireless, connected to the internet and EVERYTHING working, except Netflix..

I was then advised to wait an hour or two and try again, so i took the dog out for a few hours, came back, uninstalled and reinstalled Netflix again, tried to load up and BOOM same thing happened, complete PS3 crash, cant get the menu up, nothing! Back onto Netflix live chat i go, explain to the next agent what had happened and what i had tried exactly so far, they said they'd be back in a few minutes. 15 minutes go by, they finally reply; "Hi yes what we need you to do is format both PS3s back to original factory settings.." I didnt even read anymore after that, i instantly replied "No." Why would i be willing to lose everything on just so i can use Netflix? Not only that one of the PS3s wasnt even mine!!

Clearly they havnt got a clue about whats going on, i got them to cancel it in the end and refund me my past 2 payments as ive been unable to use their service, i did quite happily let them know that i can download everything on there for free anyway :)

#5 spudtrooper

spudtrooper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 920

Posted 27 November 2012 - 14:58

Are you running any 3rd party virus scanners? have you downloaded all of the windows updates/app updates? what video card do you have anyway?

#6 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 27 November 2012 - 17:59

Are you running any 3rd party virus scanners? have you downloaded all of the windows updates/app updates? what video card do you have anyway?

No Third part virus software but I so have MBAM
Windows is fully updated
Its a laptop, graphics is Intel 4 series chipset with latest driver from windows update (Intel are not supporting win8 for this chip but windows update did provide me a windows 8 driver, I'm guessing made by MS since Intel aren't supporting but I don't know how these things work)

#7 SierraSonic

SierraSonic

    SierraSonic

  • Joined: 28-September 04
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 27 November 2012 - 22:07

No Third part virus software but I so have MBAM
Windows is fully updated
Its a laptop, graphics is Intel 4 series chipset with latest driver from windows update (Intel are not supporting win8 for this chip but windows update did provide me a windows 8 driver, I'm guessing made by MS since Intel aren't supporting but I don't know how these things work)

I have had nothing but issues with graphics drivers from WU, have you tried the windows 7 driver?

#8 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 November 2012 - 13:10

I have had nothing but issues with graphics drivers from WU, have you tried the windows 7 driver?

It doesnt run, but I have found the win7 driver modified to run on eightforums.
Worth a try you reckon?

#9 SierraSonic

SierraSonic

    SierraSonic

  • Joined: 28-September 04
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 28 November 2012 - 13:52

It doesnt run, but I have found the win7 driver modified to run on eightforums.
Worth a try you reckon?

The only problem I notice is that unless the driver is signed some metro apps will give you an error about drivers.

#10 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 November 2012 - 14:29

The only problem I notice is that unless the driver is signed some metro apps will give you an error about drivers.

It comes with a little exe file to run that will let you run unsigned drivers.
I dont really know much about drivers so here is the link. http://www.eightforu...d-graphics.html
Do you think it would work ok?
Thanks for helping.

#11 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 30 November 2012 - 21:10

I went ahead and installed the drivers from eightforums.
I got an error saying I already had a newer version (from win update) so I rolled back the driver and installed the modified one. Although its an older version, its a proper Intel driver which means I now have the Intel graphics options panel in the tray and Photoshop OpenGL now works - neither of those two did with the driver from WinUpdate.
However, Netflix metro app still doesn't work. It crashes even earlier now, when the video loader is at about 30%.

I suspect this is all related to my graphics and the fact that its a laptop from 2010 and Intel are not supporting windows 8 for this laptop.

Is there anywhere I can look to get a better idea of what is going wrong? Event viewer doesn't seem to tell me much.