Jump to content



Photo

Neowin: A speed bump on the Information Superhighway.

bug

  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#106 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 03 December 2012 - 14:02

Just a question, but does anyone use multiple tabs? I'm only asking because I don't really notice any slow down on Neowin, but at the same time I select a link that may interest me, then switch to another tab to do something else while the page loads. Same for posting, I will hit the "post" button and switch to another tab to do something else while it goes ahead with posting. So far any slow down I've noticed I've been able to figure out that it's been on my end, not on the site's end.


#107 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 03 December 2012 - 14:03

Replying to a thread using fast reply takes about ten seconds.
Switching between pages takes about five seconds.
Going from thread view into advanced reply view takes about ten seconds.

Sometimes the site loads so slowly I give up and go do something else!

No issues on other sites, and I visit sites hosted all around the world. Can even stream videos from foreign soil without buffering.


Happens on my side too

Sounds like an issue on your end tbh.. do a tracert? Here's mine (modified the first few addresses).


Naw man, this happens on my side too, though randomly, it happens at my work connection (8Mb doown / 2up) and at home which is 10mbit down... It does happen randomly in the sense that it's not all the time, but lately, posting/replying is so annoying that it just deters me from doing so.

I don't mean to sound like a jerk, but this is really killing the forums, read around, there are several people complaining about the same issue, so it's obviously not on "our end", based on very different scenarios.

#108 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 03 December 2012 - 14:05

Sounds like an issue on your end tbh.. do a tracert? Here's mine (modified the first few addresses).



1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
2 6 ms 7 ms 7 ms
3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms
4 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms
5 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms
6 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms
7 25 ms 24 ms 24 ms
8 98 ms 107 ms 120 ms 10gigabitethernet7-4.core1.nyc4.he.net [72.52.92
.241]
9 118 ms 118 ms 116 ms 10gigabitethernet8-3.core1.chi1.he.net [72.52.92
.178]
10 113 ms 113 ms 115 ms us-signal-company-llc.10gigabitethernet1-2.core1
.chi1.he.net [216.66.74.230]
11 127 ms 124 ms 129 ms host-109-130-34-70.ussignalcom.net [70.34.130.10
9]
12 114 ms 113 ms 113 ms te7-0-0.pe01.grr.ussignalcom.net [70.34.130.29]

13 162 ms 204 ms 205 ms te7-0-0.pe02.grr.ussignalcom.net [64.186.63.206]

14 116 ms 115 ms 116 ms te1-0-0.pe01.dtw.ussignalcom.net [74.204.127.254
]
15 115 ms 118 ms 115 ms host-51-131-141-64.ussignalcom.net [64.141.131.5
1]
16 116 ms 114 ms 115 ms 247.71.204.74.in-addr.arpa [74.204.71.247]

Trace complete.

-----------------------

Did you see my edit? Nearly every time I load a thread it waits for that same site.

#109 Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXIX

  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy

Posted 03 December 2012 - 14:45

Posted Image

wish that would disappear when I reload :(

#110 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Hackintosh

Posted 03 December 2012 - 15:28

Just a question, but does anyone use multiple tabs? I'm only asking because I don't really notice any slow down on Neowin, but at the same time I select a link that may interest me, then switch to another tab to do something else while the page loads. Same for posting, I will hit the "post" button and switch to another tab to do something else while it goes ahead with posting. So far any slow down I've noticed I've been able to figure out that it's been on my end, not on the site's end.


I do the same.

#111 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Elementary OS
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 03 December 2012 - 15:37

It doesn't really bother me that much.. lol

#112 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 15:54

Posted Image

wish that would disappear when I reload :(


This is to do with the staff-bar, I've been trying to get someone to fix this for 2yrs :p

#113 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 03 December 2012 - 16:08

This is to do with the staff-bar, I've been trying to get someone to fix this for 2yrs :p

Staff bar? I see this too when "saving post" or saving edit... it takes so long I just close the window even IF the post didn't go through, it's that annoying (having to wait more than 2-3 seconds, let alone more than 10).

#114 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 December 2012 - 16:23

Slow for some and not for others couldn't be down to which theme is being used could it ?

#115 Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXIX

  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy

Posted 03 December 2012 - 16:41

This is to do with the staff-bar, I've been trying to get someone to fix this for 2yrs :p


oh right? darn!

#116 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 03 December 2012 - 18:15

Slow for some and not for others couldn't be down to which theme is being used could it ?


This could be placebo, but I just switched to Pegasus and it seems a lot faster. Was previously using Darkside.

Posting is pretty slow still, but navigation seems quicker.

#117 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 December 2012 - 18:20

This could be placebo, but I just switched to Pegasus and it seems a lot faster. Was previously using Darkside.

Posting is pretty slow still, but navigation seems quicker.


Ive been using Pegasus for a while and I do get some slowdowns but nothing like others are reporting

#118 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 18:31

This could be placebo, but I just switched to Pegasus and it seems a lot faster. Was previously using Darkside.

Posting is pretty slow still, but navigation seems quicker.


Nope, def not placebo, darkside theme is not supported and is based off an old "bloated" version of the skin.

#119 Brandon C.

Brandon C.

    [REDACTED]

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-January 05
  • Location: [REDACTED]
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 03 December 2012 - 18:52

Nope, def not placebo, darkside theme is not supported and is based off an old "bloated" version of the skin.

Well fix Darkside, I just tried Pegasus and my eyes are burning :-P Back to Darkside for me.

#120 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 December 2012 - 18:52

Nope, def not placebo, darkside theme is not supported and is based off an old "bloated" version of the skin.


I just had a hang on page loading and FF said it was waiting for 'secure.gravatar' or something close to that url incase that helps