Jump to content



Photo

7-Zip and Windows 8


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Heather

Heather

    Femme Fatale

  • Joined: 02-October 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, UK

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:11

Anyone know if 7-zip works with Windows 8?


#2 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:13

Yes, it does.

#3 OP Heather

Heather

    Femme Fatale

  • Joined: 02-October 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, UK

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:19

Thanks :)
Does the 9.20 version work? I don't really want to use the alphas

#4 Damien

Damien

    d(^-^)b

  • Joined: 12-January 10
  • Location: TT
  • OS: Razer Blade 14" & Win 8.1
  • Phone: Artic Blue S4 Mini

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:21

It should work, any problems just uninstall (using 9.29 alpha here) :)

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:33

When I was running 8 I just installed the latest stable version of 7zip and it was fine

#6 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:34

Run as admin to associate files

#7 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Xubuntu 14.04.1 / Server 2012 R2 / Ubuntu Server 14.04.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:49

9.30 Alpha is the most recent / recommended for Windows 8 at the moment. Works well.

#8 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 15 December 2012 - 02:32

I'm not keen on using alphas. How stable are they?

#9 DKAngel

DKAngel

    That i cannot own ....I shall destroy

  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:08

basicaly if it worked in win7 it should work in win8

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:13

I'm not keen on using alphas. How stable are they?

stable enough, 7-zip's alphas aren't really even what you'd usually consider alpha quality as they're pretty good at keeping things stable before the release the build

all alpha really means for 7-zip usually is they're testing out some new features or moved some things around. but like i said they usually are good about it being stable before releasing it. so take it how you want it

#11 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:58

Using 9.20 on W8x64, no issues whatsoever.

#12 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 19 December 2012 - 02:42

Yea I didn't even think to check if it was working, just went ahead and installed, works fine.

#13 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 19 December 2012 - 03:01

9.20 works just fine in Windows 8 x64.