Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:01

Trying to repair an uncle's PC (Athlon 64 3200+, 512 MB RAM, Windows XP).

When the machine is switched on, the system and CPU fans speed at their maximum level constantly until I keep the power button pressed to switch the system off.

There are no beeps, and there is no display.

I believe the fan's maxing out is normal, but only for a second or two, before normal POST/boot resumes.

Any ideas?


#2 ArtistX

ArtistX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-November 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 - Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:03

Check the bios settings, sometimes there are settings there for fans

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:04

Could be a few things, try each stick of RAM on its own

Remove the graphics card if there is one and use onboard (if it has one)

Could be the motherboard

Reset the CMOS by removing the battery for 30 seconds

#4 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:05

Check the bios settings, sometimes there are settings there for fans


You missed the part when I said "no display" :p

Could be a few things, try each stick of RAM on its own

Remove the graphics card if there is one and use onboard (if it has one)

Could be the motherboard

Reset the CMOS by removing the battery for 30 seconds


Only one RAM stick. I'll try the other things now.

#5 seta-san

seta-san

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:06

did you check the heat sinks? are they clogged with dust?

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:07

Only one RAM stick. I'll try the other things now.


Try that stick of RAM in different slots too, if you have any spare RAM, try that instead

#7 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:08

bad PSU ?

#8 ArtistX

ArtistX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-November 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 - Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:08

You missed the part when I said "no display" :p



Only one RAM stick. I'll try the other things now.


Indeed I did :blush: , Detections ideas should be the next course, sounds like an old AMD i had, CMOS battery was dying

#9 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:10

sorry OP this is a little off topic but I always wondered why some PCs do that full speed fan thing for a few seconds on power up.
all 3 of my PC's have been self builds and they haven't done that, but my mum and dads computers are bought and they both do it.

#10 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:19

As soon as I take the NVIDIA GeForce 6600 out, the fans only spin fast for one second.

However, I can't confirm it's the video card at fault since I can't get anything onto the display!

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:20

As soon as I take the NVIDIA GeForce 6600 out, the fans only spin fast for one second.

However, I can't confirm it's the video card at fault since I can't get anything onto the display!


Sounds like that's your culprit

If you have speakers, plug them into the machine, let it boot up and see if you hear XP startup sounds

HDD activity light should give up its secrets if its booting

#12 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:24

This is a PCI-E video card, right?

eb_pciemaybe.jpg

If so, which one?:
  • PCI Express ×1
  • PCI Express ×4
  • PCI Express ×16


#13 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:26

This is a PCI-E video card, right?

eb_pciemaybe.jpg

If so, which one?:

  • PCI Express ×1
  • PCI Express ×4
  • PCI Express ×16



PCI-E yep, x16 if the board supports it, x8 if not I would imagine but you could test with any other PCI-E card so long as the PSU has the appropriate power adapter for it / or it doesn't need a power supply

#14 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:28

PCI-E yep, x16 if the board supports it, x8 if not I would imagine but you could test with any other PCI-E card so long as the PSU has the appropriate power adapter for it / or it doesn't need a power supply

Unfortunately, I have no way to plug speakers into the machine.

The HDD doesn't sound like it's doing much from what I can tell/hear.

His current video card doesn't need any power adapters from the PSU.

#15 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 20:32

Unfortunately, I have no way to plug speakers into the machine.

The HDD doesn't sound like it's doing much from what I can tell/hear.


Unless this is dust, it looks like this cap has popped

Posted Image



Possible because of so many failed boots, its stuck on some safe mode / repair screen, or can't boot at all

His current video card doesn't need any power adapters from the PSU.


Yea, I meant if you had another card to test in his machine, or were you going to test that one in your machine ?

Either would work


--

From a closer look I'd say this was definitely the problem, or at least one of them, maybe could be repaired if you can solder

Posted Image