Jump to content



Photo

IP Board 3.4

request

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Kamran Mackey

Kamran Mackey

    Minecraft Stone Miner

  • Joined: 30-September 12
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Sony Xperia M2 LTE-A D2306

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:31

Request: I think it would be nice if you guys (Neowin) upgraded to IP. Board 3.4. It has a lot of new features and functionality. I tried it and it is not buggy.


#2 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:57

Neowin doesn't wanna upgrade becuase of the mods they have for 3.2 :(

I do agree though. It's gotten much better. Also adds mobile mod controls and it's much faster as well.

#3 OP Kamran Mackey

Kamran Mackey

    Minecraft Stone Miner

  • Joined: 30-September 12
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Sony Xperia M2 LTE-A D2306

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:01

Neowin doesn't wanna upgrade becuase of the mods they have for 3.2 :(

I do agree though. It's gotten much better. Also adds mobile mod controls and it's much faster as well.


They will probably upgrade sometime this year. But wait, there mods would stay where they are. IP. Board keeps everything the way it is when you upgrade to a new version. I've owned multiple forums and they were all running IP. Board and when I upgraded to the latest version, all my mods were still there.

#4 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:03

They will probably upgrade sometime this year. But wait, there mods would stay where they are. IP. Board keeps everything the way it is when you upgrade to a new version. I've owned multiple forums and they were all running IP. Board and when I upgraded to the latest version, all my mods were still there.


Some hooks have issues, however my upgrades all have ran smoothly though.

#5 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:04

We are going to upgrade but we're waiting for a few bug fix releases first

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:06

We are going to upgrade but we're waiting for a few bug fix releases first


Which ones?

#7 OP Kamran Mackey

Kamran Mackey

    Minecraft Stone Miner

  • Joined: 30-September 12
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Sony Xperia M2 LTE-A D2306

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:07

Well, the latest IP. Board is 3.4.1. And I believe they released a security update not too long ago to fix a security issue. What's the latest version you guys are using now anyway?

#8 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:08

Until this list is a bit shorter http://community.inv...tml/_/ip-board/

We may upgrade when 3.4.2 is released

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:08

Well, the latest IP. Board is 3.4.1. And I believe they released a security update not too long ago to fix a security issue. What's the latest version you guys are using now anyway?


Mine's been done patched for a while now and I also applied the editor patch as well.....

#10 OP Kamran Mackey

Kamran Mackey

    Minecraft Stone Miner

  • Joined: 30-September 12
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Sony Xperia M2 LTE-A D2306

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:11

Mine's been done patched for a while now and I also applied the editor patch as well.....

Until this list is a bit shorter http://community.inv...tml/_/ip-board/

We may upgrade when 3.4.2 is released


Well, 3.4.2 should be released very soon. And thats great to hear remixedcat.

#11 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 12 January 2013 - 19:06

They will probably upgrade sometime this year. But wait, there mods would stay where they are. IP. Board keeps everything the way it is when you upgrade to a new version. I've owned multiple forums and they were all running IP. Board and when I upgraded to the latest version, all my mods were still there.


Most of our mods aren't (and can't be) done through hooks, we have to edit a lot of the source files for IP.Board itself (there's over 200 modifications we have to make) to provide the functionality we use here.

#12 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 January 2013 - 19:12

Why can't you do it with hooks??

#13 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 12 January 2013 - 19:15

wow, that's a lot of modifications

#14 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 12 January 2013 - 19:17

Why can't you do it with hooks??

A lot of what we do changes existing functionality, rather than extending it. Also, there aren't hook points at every location in the code where we need to do things. On top of that, hooks themselves are problematic on a multi-server setup without modifications to make them work.

#15 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 January 2013 - 19:34

How would hooks have trouble with multiserver setups??