Welcome Guest! To access all forums & features, please register an account or sign-in. → Why register?



Chrome Malware Alert


2 replies to this topic - - - - -

#1 SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • 2,359 posts
  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • Location: Midlands, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.8, iOS 6
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 29 January 2013 - 18:02

Malware alert in this thread: http://www.neowin.ne...on/page__st__60

Posted Image


#2 Guth

    Alba Gu BrĂ¡th

  • 788 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 29 January 2013 - 18:06

It comes from valid.canardpc.com
my guess is someone has used a site to host files that Google doesn't like

Good spot

[edit] It's actually a linked image and comes from the signature of neo158

This is the link from his sig (the cpu-z image), which chrome also blocks. WARNING: http://valid.canardp....php?id=1817044
"Content from valid.canardpc.com, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware."

However, despite that on this page http://safebrowsing....chrome&hl=en-GB Google says this site is not listed as suspicious and has not hosted malware in the past 90 days

Also, here is 35 scans of the URL by virus total, only Google list it as unsafe. https://www.virustot...d78b3/analysis/

#3 xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 5,887 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

Posted 29 January 2013 - 18:24

Taken care of, next time please use the report button on the member or thread post so we can be alerted to the issue quicker.

Thanks.