Jump to content



Photo

IE 10 Update Block

win7

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 01 June 2013 - 15:37

Hi Guys!

No matter what I try, I can't get the blocker gpo provided by Microsoft to work correctly. I installed it the exact same way I did the 9 blocker (replacing the adm file in the sysvol share), and I've even tried to run the startup script to prevent it but no matter what, it still installs on the client machines.


What do I do? It's such a pain. IE10's rendering engine breaks essentially all of the websites our dealerships use, including our web mail client.

Thanks,
Mike

Edit: Forgot to mention - all of the machines are running Windows 7 Pro SP1, on an AD domain powered by Windows Server 2003 (with Windows 2000 Mixed set as the functional domain level. Yes, I know that's outdated, but my supervisor won't allow me to upgrade it.)


#2 lars77

lars77

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 June 2013 - 18:32

re: the websites, do they work correctly if you set them to load in Compatibility Mode in IE 9/10? You'd be *way* better off upgrading the machines to IE10 if you can set the websites to work correctly in there. Also if the websites have particular ActiveX controls you may want to adjust those IE settings too.

Outside of that not too sure, do you know if the users have permissions to run Windows Update on their own and/or install permissions? I've used the IE9 blocker on a few machines & for the most part it works, but sometimes IE 9/10 would get installed anyway. I have a feeling it happened b/c the user maybe got a Windows Update prompt & manually triggered the update to IE 9/10. The blocker only seems to block automated updates to IE 9/10, but it doesn't seem to prevent a manual install AFAIK. (for my particular client this wasn't a big deal, though it meant I had to re-do their IE ActiveX & compatibility mode settings post-upgrade)

#3 OP +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 02 June 2013 - 04:19

Unfortunately, no they don't render properly in compatibility mode. Also, IE10 seems to be stuck in 64 bit mode (no 32 bit option I've seen yet) and the proprietary plugins the vehicle manufacturers use bug out with 64 bit and ask to install themselves endlessly (I.e. BMW DealerSpeed and VW's SAGA app requires their version of Java 1.5.

These are automatic updates... None of these users have admin access, or even control panel access.

#4 cluberti

cluberti

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-January 10

Posted 02 June 2013 - 18:49

IE10 on an x64 machine loads the frame process as 64bit (for security reasons), but tab processes should still be 32bit by default (hence why you don't easily find the IE 64bit binary, and even if you launch it, you still end up with 32bit tabs by default) unless you enable IE10's enhanced protected mode (which will give you a full 64bit experience, tabs included).

The IE10 blocker toolkit (or just the reg value "DoNotAllowIE10", technically, set to 1) should block delivery of IE10 via automatic updates - what specific behavior are you seeing, what update mechanism is in use for these machines, and is this registry value (under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Setup\10.0) being set to 1 after the script runs?

#5 AnotherITguy

AnotherITguy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64
  • Phone: Iphone 5C 16GB

Posted 02 June 2013 - 21:26

I assume your machines are all WINDOWS 7 SP1 X64, right?, and also, how are you deploying the updates, via windows update or wsus?


#6 OP +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:29

I assume your machines are all WINDOWS 7 SP1 X64, right?, and also, how are you deploying the updates, via windows update or wsus?


Yes, they are. The updates are getting deployed via Windows Update. I can't deploy WSUS because I don't have any servers with hard drives larger than 40GB.

#7 Raa

Raa

    Resident something-or-rather

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:34

I don't have any servers with hard drives larger than 40GB.

:|

#8 AnotherITguy

AnotherITguy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64
  • Phone: Iphone 5C 16GB

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:37

Giantsnyy, you could just tell the machine not to auto install all of the updates. Personally whenever I pickup a new client I stand down auto updating because it does create some headaches with custom apps the night after the updates if there are any issues. My advice, do the updates manually and tell windows update NOT to auto install all of the updates. Is it a little more overhead for you.... you bet!, will it give you a little more peace of mind in the end (specially with IE), in my humble opinion...YES

#9 OP +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:39

Yeah... it's a nightmare. They're all old athlon64's (single core's too) with 512mb ram and Windows 2003R2 mix of x64 and x86.

Giantsnyy, you could just tell the machine not to auto install all of the updates. Personally whenever I pickup a new client I stand down auto updating because it does create some headaches with custom apps the night after the updates if there are any issues. My advice, do the updates manually and tell windows update NOT to auto install all of the updates. Is it a little more overhead for you.... you bet!, will it give you a little more peace of mind in the end (specially with IE), in my humble opinion...YES


Not possible... trust me I'd love to... but manually updating 748 computers?

#10 AnotherITguy

AnotherITguy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64
  • Phone: Iphone 5C 16GB

Posted 03 June 2013 - 03:22

Giantsnyy, did you give this a spin?

http://www.microsoft...ils.aspx?id=179

There are a couple detailed instructions there, dig a little deeper, im surprised the blocker tool is giving you so much of a headache.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!