Jump to content



Photo

World's most insane ebay ad

web

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • 3,924 posts
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 06 December 2013 - 13:41

PV0LTcu.jpg

No pron open in your tabs? SHAME!




#17 He's Dead Jim

He's Dead Jim

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,278 posts
  • Joined: 06-October 10

Posted 06 December 2013 - 13:45

No pron open in your tabs? SHAME!

hehe ;)



#18 ndoggfromhell

ndoggfromhell

    Master of the 6th Speed

  • 589 posts
  • Joined: 20-March 02

Posted 06 December 2013 - 15:50

It's actually not that terrible...  Windows 95 runs okay on the 486 chip with enough memory.  I want to say my model has 20meg of memory in it.  16meg on a card that looks like a PCMCIA card that sits under the HD.  4 meg was onboard.  Some of the 360's had simms in them for memory but they were the last production runs.  The 760 series is where DIMMS reallly became the standard.  

 

 

 

I bet Windows 95 runs like crap on that to be honest.. 



#19 koppit

koppit

    Techy

  • 533 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 02
  • Location: Canada

Posted 06 December 2013 - 16:07

IBM sure knew how to build modular laptops back in the day. I remember having one in 2001 that the keyboard lifted up and everything was exposed with little slide-out brackets to remove everything - very much like pic #4. I miss those days... That hinge is like the great great grandfather to my XPS 12 :)



#20 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • 3,924 posts
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 06 December 2013 - 16:12

It's actually not that terrible...  Windows 95 runs okay on the 486 chip with enough memory.  I want to say my model has 20meg of memory in it.  16meg on a card that looks like a PCMCIA card that sits under the HD.  4 meg was onboard.  Some of the 360's had simms in them for memory but they were the last production runs.  The 760 series is where DIMMS reallly became the standard.  

 

I had 22megs of ram on my 486DX2.. Windows 95 didn't run too well on it.. 



#21 _dandy_

_dandy_

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,867 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 04

Posted 06 December 2013 - 16:17

It's actually not that terrible...  Windows 95 runs okay on the 486 chip with enough memory.  I want to say my model has 20meg of memory in it.  16meg on a card that looks like a PCMCIA card that sits under the HD.  4 meg was onboard.  Some of the 360's had simms in them for memory but they were the last production runs.  The 760 series is where DIMMS reallly became the standard.  

 

 

I definitely remember "running" 95 on a 486 system that had 4MB of RAM[*].  It installed...it launched...but everything was pretty much a slide show.  Given the 20MB this machine has, 95 would run in a perfectly acceptable fashion.  I remember that with 64MB, it would hardly ever need to page anything to disk.

 

[*]  4MB takes me back...to put things into perspective, any store nowadays still carrying a machine with 1000 times that amount of RAM is dealing with old inventory.



#22 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 12,057 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 06 December 2013 - 17:16

lol 486dx2, does it have a turbo button?



#23 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • 3,699 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 06 December 2013 - 17:34

Good item for any school, college, or museum computer history exposition

 

  :s

I am sure some school really wants to spend 200,000 for a Windows 95 Thinkpad to be put on display :no:



#24 SiCKX

SiCKX

    Cannibal

  • 1,314 posts
  • Joined: 23-November 06
  • Location: Errywhere
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 06 December 2013 - 17:49

For that money you can get this and save some.

 

4tCgh9X.jpg



#25 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,224 posts
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 06 December 2013 - 17:51

I had a Pentium 60MHz (one of the original ones) with 32MB of RAM and windows 95 ran like CRAP on it.... it worked but it was horrible... not until my P2 with 64MB of RAM did windows 95 feel smooth



#26 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 13,042 posts
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 December 2013 - 17:53

I have a 760ED and a 600x, i wonder if i can get $100K for each? LOL. I'd sell them in a split second!

#27 Buttus

Buttus

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined: 07-September 05

Posted 06 December 2013 - 18:08

i've been looking for a laptop, and this has a touchscreen!   bonus!



#28 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,368 posts
  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 06 December 2013 - 18:09

I've been looking for a new gaming laptop. Do you think this can play Skyrim? I'm just a little worried it might not have enough RAM.



#29 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,822 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 06 December 2013 - 20:39

 

It is blocked,  can someone take a screen shot?  I am curious.  

PV0LTcu.jpg

 

Thanks!

 

That is odd.  



#30 madd-hatter

madd-hatter

    Crazy Hat Salesman

  • 1,489 posts
  • Joined: 17-January 07

Posted 06 December 2013 - 20:48

Pretty ****in' cool.

 

$199,499.99

No where near that cool.