Jump to content



Photo

Front Page Issue

Answered Go to the full post bug

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ians18

ians18

    Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 8.1 August Update (RT/Standard/Pro), OSX Yoesmite
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (DEV) "Lumia Black" Firmware

Posted 24 December 2013 - 02:26

See for Yourself (image of front page of Neowin taken at 6:22 PST, 12/23/2013) This happens in Chrome 31, IE 11. I don't have ad-block enabled.

 

neowin.JPG



Best Answer DaveLegg , 24 December 2013 - 04:25

Really don't want to do that on WP since it clears your cookies and everything else (no choice unfortunately). Problem has existed all day.

 

There was an update to the site 14 hours ago, it's likely you have a cached version of something from before then, that's conflicting with the new code.

Go to the full post



#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 24 December 2013 - 02:40

no issue here on firefox 26



#3 zman982

zman982

    You can not harm me!

  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: Jackson, MS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 2

Posted 24 December 2013 - 03:27

See for Yourself (image of front page of Neowin taken at 6:22 PST, 12/23/2013) This happens in Chrome 31, IE 11. I don't have ad-block enabled.

 

<snipped>

I'm seeing the same thing on the front page while using Firefox Nightly.



#4 Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:15

Issue exists on WP8 and IE11.

#5 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:20

Not seeing it here, have you tried clearing your caches?



#6 Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:21

Really don't want to do that on WP since it clears your cookies and everything else (no choice unfortunately). Problem has existed all day.



#7 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:25   Best Answer

Really don't want to do that on WP since it clears your cookies and everything else (no choice unfortunately). Problem has existed all day.

 

There was an update to the site 14 hours ago, it's likely you have a cached version of something from before then, that's conflicting with the new code.



#8 OP ians18

ians18

    Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 8.1 August Update (RT/Standard/Pro), OSX Yoesmite
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (DEV) "Lumia Black" Firmware

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:52

There was an update to the site 14 hours ago, it's likely you have a cached version of something from before then, that's conflicting with the new code.

It stopped around 7:00 PST and then the front page did that again. So I cleared the cache and cookies, however, the issue still persisted until around 8:40. Now it's all good again. :)



#9 Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:01

And now it's happening again. Cleared cache, same issue.



#10 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:06

Same thing happening to me, started yesterday. I even took a screenshot of it in an attempt to start a thread about it, but it mysteriously starting working again on its own, so I thought, meh...why bother....but I just checked, and yep....my homepage looks almost identical to the OP's. (it totally looked identical just yesterday)



#11 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:29

Happening here too.