Jump to content



Photo

Taking screenshots of video or DVD.


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 FiREFLi

FiREFLi

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,113 posts
  • Joined: 01-March 04
  • Location: England

Posted 29 March 2005 - 03:25

Thanks to slimy for inspiring this guide. :) It's simple really but judging by the amount of people who ask...

Screenshotting Video
how can i take a screenshot of a movie
Video Screen Shot?
screenshot from video

...I think it might be handy to have around. I can just link to this instead of explaining everytime :rolleyes:
^And they're just the ones I replied to :pinch:


The Guide

1. Right-click the desktop > Properties > Settings > Advanced > Troubleshooting > Hardware acceleration: None
Bypass graphics card

2. Press the print screen key on your keyboard.
Saves the entire desktop as an image to the clipboard.

3. Paste into your favourite graphics editor. Even paint will do.
Now you can see what was saved. From here you can do what you like with it, saving might be a good idea ;)

4. Right-click the desktop > Properties > Settings > Advanced > Troubleshooting > Hardware acceleration: Full (or whatever it was beforehand)
Return graphics settings back to normal


How Things Work
This is a slightly edited version - only for grammers' sake - of a technical explanation of how this works from a reply Kieran made to one of the previous threads I answered:

The explanation is if you have harware acceleration enabled, all rendering of the movie is done on your graphics card. When you do a screen capture, it gets what is in the screen buffer before it is sent to the graphics card, so that data isnt there yet. If you turn acceleration off, the movie is forced to be rendered by software and is so in the screen buffer before it is sent to the gfx card and hence can be captured.

View Post


Enjoy :)


#2 Vorenus

Vorenus

    I am Dr. Zaius

  • 299 posts
  • Joined: 05-January 04

Posted 29 March 2005 - 03:28

Thanks to slimy for inspiring this guide. :) It's simple really but judging by the amount of people who ask...

Screenshotting Video
how can i take a screenshot of a movie
Video Screen Shot?
screenshot from video

...I think it might be handy to have around. I can just link to this instead of explaining everytime :rolleyes:
^And they're just the ones I replied to :pinch:
The Guide

How Things Work
This is a slightly edited version - only for grammers' sake - of a technical explanation of how this works from a reply Keiran made to one of the previous threads I answered:

Enjoy :)

View Post



Ummmm.... you mean "grammars" ? Right?

#3 OP FiREFLi

FiREFLi

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,113 posts
  • Joined: 01-March 04
  • Location: England

Posted 29 March 2005 - 03:30

Ummmm.... you mean "grammars" ? Right?

View Post

I'm not sure :s I did think about it a bit when I wrote it but I thought grammers' was right :blink: Wrong?

#4 vetAndrew Lyle

Andrew Lyle

    Don't Panic!

  • 31,910 posts
  • Joined: 15-December 03
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 7 SP1

Posted 29 March 2005 - 04:34

very cool, always wondered why the hell i can't take screens shots of DVD's LOL

#5 Lee_Mann

Lee_Mann

    Neowinian

  • 7 posts
  • Joined: 01-February 05

Posted 29 March 2005 - 05:19

Oh im sure there are ways :p but yea, good guide lots of people ask me stuff this all the time, thanks

#6 Valerus

Valerus

    thewilltodd.com

  • 4,750 posts
  • Joined: 29-September 04
  • Location: TEXAS

Posted 29 March 2005 - 05:44

Cool, thanks. :)

#7 insanekiwi

insanekiwi

    local know-it-all idiot

  • 25,461 posts
  • Joined: 22-March 02
  • Location: Essen, Germany
  • OS: OS X 10.8.3
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 29 March 2005 - 08:13

thanks for this guide (Y)

#8 Nighthawk-F117

Nighthawk-F117

    Neowinian

  • 652 posts
  • Joined: 24-February 05
  • Location: Scotland, UK

Posted 29 March 2005 - 09:02

thanks for this guide (Y)

View Post

Thanks for that guide. I've never known how to do it, now I do.

#9 Tel

Tel

    Neowinian

  • 237 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 04
  • Location: Swindon

Posted 29 March 2005 - 16:16

thank u very much! been after this for a while now.

#10 Jay C

Jay C

    Neowinian

  • 711 posts
  • Joined: 04-November 03
  • Location: Walsall, England

Posted 29 March 2005 - 16:35

wvery useful ... thank you :D

#11 Slimy

Slimy

    Ars + Neowin

  • 22,355 posts
  • Joined: 04-April 04

Posted 30 March 2005 - 00:46

great. that's guide #2 that i suggested, maybe i should get around to doing my own? :p - good work fr3ak

#12 OP FiREFLi

FiREFLi

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,113 posts
  • Joined: 01-March 04
  • Location: England

Posted 30 March 2005 - 00:51

very cool, always wondered why the hell i can't take screens shots of DVD's LOL

View Post

Oh im sure there are ways :p but yea, good guide lots of people ask me stuff this all the time, thanks

View Post

Cool, thanks. :)

View Post

thanks for this guide (Y)

View Post

Thanks for that guide. I've never  known how to do it, now I do.

View Post

thank u very much! been after this for a while now.

View Post

wvery useful ... thank you :D

View Post

great. that's guide #2 that i suggested, maybe i should get around to doing my own? :p - good work fr3ak

View Post

Thank you all (Y) Happy to help. :yes:

#13 Bhav

Bhav

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,995 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 11 April 2005 - 09:16

this will prove to be very useful. i found i could only take screenshots like normal when using QuickTime.

#14 McDizzle28

McDizzle28

    Neowinian

  • 6 posts
  • Joined: 17-June 05

Posted 20 June 2005 - 06:44

In powerdvd there is a shortcut key to send it to you clipboard... I believe it is © for capture

#15 turkishdelight

turkishdelight

    Neowinian

  • 1,187 posts
  • Joined: 03-October 04

Posted 22 June 2005 - 03:51

Great work. By the way, it's "grammar's" :D



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!