Jump to content



Photo

Leopard Networking with Vista


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 tunafish

tunafish

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 30 October 2007 - 16:28

I am having major issues with Leopard networking
With tiger i used to go in and set the thing on a local domain (HOME) but now it appears to auto pickup pcs etc.
Well i have enabled file sharing SMB and AFP sharing
Now NO pc can connect to the mac and the mac can't connect to any VISTA based pc, just says connection refused.
This issue has just happened with leopard, it was working fine in tiger, as vista could connect etc

How can i get my pc to connect to my mac shares and my mac to connect to my pc shares


#2 OP tunafish

tunafish

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 30 October 2007 - 16:37

i got it figured out
with tiger i am used to it poping up a login box asking you to login but with leopard it looks like they removed that wonderfull feature and replaced it with a connect as button.....

Attached Images

  • Picture_2.png


#3 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 06 December 2007 - 17:33

I also can't get my Vista desktop to network with my Leopard Macbook. Can you explain how you got it to work? Your image isn't showing up.

I have file sharing on Vista turned on, but my Macbook never sees the Vista pc.

#4 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 06 December 2007 - 17:42

All works fine here. No issue at all with Vista accessing my Leopard MBP or with my MBP accessing my Vista machine.

I activated normal file sharing in Vista selected the Folders I wanted to share and made sure the network my Vista machine was connected to was set to Private (for file sharing to activate it needs to be set to private).

From my Leopard install I just naturally access the machine through the finder or through my own Aliass to certain folders on the Vista machine.

For Vista to access my Leopard machine I activated Windows sharing on Leopard and mapped the computer from the Vista explorer. All worked fine there (Although I had to enter my Username and Password the first time I set it up).

It's quite easy to do takes 5 minutes I'd say.

#5 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 06 December 2007 - 17:47

All works fine here. No issue at all with Vista accessing my Leopard MBP or with my MBP accessing my Vista machine.

I activated normal file sharing in Vista selected the Folders I wanted to share and made sure the network my Vista machine was connected to was set to Private (for file sharing to activate it needs to be set to private).


I have done this

From my Leopard install I just naturally access the machine through the finder or through my own Aliass to certain folders on the Vista machine.


My Vista computer or any other computer on the network doesn't show up in finder

For Vista to access my Leopard machine I activated Windows sharing on Leopard and mapped the computer from the Vista explorer. All worked fine there (Although I had to enter my Username and Password the first time I set it up).

It's quite easy to do takes 5 minutes I'd say.


Which method did you use? AFP, FTP, or SMB?

#6 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 06 December 2007 - 20:44

would connecting my macbook to ethernet instead of wifi help it see my vista machine which is hooked to the router through ethernet. But the wireless is built into the router.

#7 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 06 December 2007 - 22:04

SMB of course. Just the normal built in file sharing provided by Vista.

I've done this for 12 months, it also worked fine in in the following configurations:

XP <-> Tiger
XP <-> Leopard
Vista <-> Tiger
Vista <-> Leopard

With zero problems with anything. My Vista machine will never appear in the Finder of my Leopard machine if I have the local network set to Public however. It must be set to Private for it to be detected and show up in the Finder.

#8 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 06 December 2007 - 22:56

Yeah I can't get them to talk to each other no matter what I do. Can you give a step by step of what to do

I switched it to smb and it says to access go to "smb://192.xxx.x.xx" which fails

And again, my vista network is set to private, and the macbook still doesn't see it.

#9 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 07 December 2007 - 22:09

Anybody else have any ideas?

#10 Chadwick

Chadwick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-December 01

Posted 08 December 2007 - 00:13

I had to do a terminal hack of sorts to get mine to connect to the network shares at work. I don't have the site though, the problem was that leopard by default sends it's passwords encrypted, windows by default doesn't support encrypted passwords unless it is enabled, so windows was seeing a scrambled mess instead of my password. Mind you this was on a domain but it could be happening for you too.

My huge issue is that I can't save anything to the network drives. It's that >4k bug, and it's killing me. I often deal with huge photoshop files (graphic designer) and not being able to transfer anything to the network drives at work to share with others is becoming a pain in the ass.

#11 Blaine

Blaine

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Abilene TX

Posted 08 December 2007 - 01:21

I had to do a terminal hack of sorts to get mine to connect to the network shares at work. I don't have the site though, the problem was that leopard by default sends it's passwords encrypted, windows by default doesn't support encrypted passwords unless it is enabled, so windows was seeing a scrambled mess instead of my password. Mind you this was on a domain but it could be happening for you too.

My huge issue is that I can't save anything to the network drives. It's that >4k bug, and it's killing me. I often deal with huge photoshop files (graphic designer) and not being able to transfer anything to the network drives at work to share with others is becoming a pain in the ass.


Yeah :/ I guess I'll just have to use flash drives to transfer files. Maybe 10.5.2 will fix it.

#12 raskren

raskren

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-November 03
  • Location: A series of tubes

Posted 08 December 2007 - 01:27

I had to do a terminal hack of sorts to get mine to connect to the network shares at work. I don't have the site though, the problem was that leopard by default sends it's passwords encrypted, windows by default doesn't support encrypted passwords unless it is enabled, so windows was seeing a scrambled mess instead of my password. Mind you this was on a domain but it could be happening for you too.

My huge issue is that I can't save anything to the network drives. It's that >4k bug, and it's killing me. I often deal with huge photoshop files (graphic designer) and not being able to transfer anything to the network drives at work to share with others is becoming a pain in the ass.

You mean this? http://www.neowin.ne...howtopic=535088

Where you have to to dumb down Vista's SMB security level to talk to OS X? OS X (Tiger) has a really old version of the Samba protocol...don't know about Leopard.

#13 daveoc64

daveoc64

    Member

  • Joined: 25-March 03
  • Location: Bristol, UK

Posted 09 December 2007 - 22:24

i got it figured out
with tiger i am used to it poping up a login box asking you to login but with leopard it looks like they removed that wonderfull feature and replaced it with a connect as button.....


They removed it because you don't always need to login to get to a share.

I can browse the PCs (some XP some Vista) on this network without a password. With a password I can access a little more.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!