Jump to content



Photo

Boot Windows 7 off of USB


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Cyber Akuma

Cyber Akuma

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-January 05

Posted 16 January 2009 - 16:45

I tried to Google this, but every guide told me how to INSTALL Windows 7 beta off a USB drive.

This is not what I am trying to do.

I already have it installed on a SATA laptop drive, and have a USB dock for SATA drives.

I want to know if there is any way to boot Windows 7 off of the drive once its connected by USB.

I am aware that this is possible with Windows XP and Windows Vista, but only after applying a 3rd party patch that changes the way the system handles USB connections on boot.

And yes, I am also aware this will make it run slower too off USB 2.0 instead of the internal SATA connection, thats fine.

So, has there been any method discovered yet to boot Windows 7 off a USB drive?


#2 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 16 January 2009 - 18:15

check it: http://www.neowin.ne...howtopic=722492

#3 sweetleaf

sweetleaf

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-December 08

Posted 16 January 2009 - 18:16

So you are wanting the OS to be installed and booted from the usb device?

#4 Olemus

Olemus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Middlesbrough, UK

Posted 16 January 2009 - 18:19

check it: http://www.neowin.ne...howtopic=722492


but every guide told me how to INSTALL Windows 7 beta off a USB drive.

This is not what I am trying to do.


10 out of 10 for not reading the whole post.

#5 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 16 January 2009 - 18:35

Strangely i read the title, thought i'd help someone out by tracking down the thread i was reading earlier.
In my hurry to help out a fellow Neowiner i forgot to completly read the whole post, wont bother next time. Not worth the attitude you get off of some posters round here.

#6 bjgrem

bjgrem

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 17-January 09

Posted 17 January 2009 - 18:47

Works for vista, might work for win7. Haven't tried it yet, but will soon. Not extactly what you were looking for but it may come in handy.

http://www.instructa...e-with-VistaPE/

#7 Mordkanin

Mordkanin

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-February 04

Posted 17 January 2009 - 19:43

It'll be slow.

#8 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 17 January 2009 - 20:09

At this moment, it's just impossible.

The USB stack in Windows is written so that whenever you connect or disconnect a USB device, the whole USB stack reinitializes. This makes Windows lose the connection to the USB stick for a very short time, and in that time it cannot write to the swap file or do anything else. When that happens Windows just freezes and it stays frozen until you reboot. I'm afraid it just won't work. One possible solution would be an eSATA disk...

#9 OP Cyber Akuma

Cyber Akuma

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-January 05

Posted 17 January 2009 - 20:51

One possible solution would be an eSATA disk...


Yes I know, that would be the PERFECT solution..... unfortunately, my laptop has no eSATA ports :(

#10 fuzzychin

fuzzychin

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 04-August 09

Posted 04 August 2009 - 08:05

Yes I know, that would be the PERFECT solution..... unfortunately, my laptop has no eSATA ports :(


Buy some? PCMCIA or Express cards are cheap as chips...
Also people are doing it from USB - http://kmwoley.com/blog/?p=345

Happy days :)

#11 Techload

Techload

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 23-January 10

Posted 23 January 2010 - 00:48

I tried to Google this, but every guide told me how to INSTALL Windows 7 beta off a USB drive.

This is not what I am trying to do.

I already have it installed on a SATA laptop drive, and have a USB dock for SATA drives.

I want to know if there is any way to boot Windows 7 off of the drive once its connected by USB.

I am aware that this is possible with Windows XP and Windows Vista, but only after applying a 3rd party patch that changes the way the system handles USB connections on boot.

And yes, I am also aware this will make it run slower too off USB 2.0 instead of the internal SATA connection, thats fine.

So, has there been any method discovered yet to boot Windows 7 off a USB drive?


What is the 3rd party patch for Windows XP and Vista for running off a USB drive?

Thanks,

#12 Swiftie

Swiftie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 23 January 2010 - 01:41

What is the 3rd party patch for Windows XP and Vista for running off a USB drive?

Thanks,


You could just try this..

http://store.microso...m/Help/ISO-Tool

#13 hdood

hdood

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-February 04

Posted 23 January 2010 - 18:41

You could just try this..

http://store.microso...m/Help/ISO-Tool

That is for installing Windows from a USB drive, not installing it to a USB drive. The two are very different things. I've yet to see any 7 patches that will let you do it.

#14 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 23 January 2010 - 21:23

It can be done with XP, although the hack to achieve it is somewhat complicated, and it is somewhat flaky. don't think it can be done with 7 or Vista yet.

#15 joey_oggie

joey_oggie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 09
  • Location: Egypt

Posted 24 January 2010 - 02:13

Here you go :)
Install Windows 7 on a USB hard drive

I installed it on my 320GB WD hard drive and it's working fine on my desktop PC where I installed it from and on a netbook which has XP installed but unfortunately it's not working on a laptop I have which has Vista installed; it just BSODs while booting. I know why it's doing that, but don't know how to fix it yet. If you face the same problem, you can PM me and if I know a solution by then I will tell you. :)

Edited by joey_oggie, 24 January 2010 - 02:15.




Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!