Having problems with iPhone after upgrade

Late last night, I downloaded iPhone 3.0 and started the upgrade process, but just before that, I charged my iPhone for 3 hours (it was half way full any ways) to make sure the battery didn't die on me during the upgrade.

The upgrade when smoothly and I started playing with the phone and restored my last back up before I did the upgrade. The phone was still fully charged and I called it a night since I was feeling tired. Woke up roughly 9 hours later to find that my phone was saying there was only 20% battery life left, which I found weird because I remember I turned off 3G, Wireless and Bluetooth. So I shrugged it off and went to the App store and started downloading my apps again (BeeJive, FAcebook, TVGuide and Skype). I started up Beejive to see who was online (was too lazy to get out of bed :p), and my phone switched off. So I thought it was a software glitch or something. Went to switch the phone back on and was greeted with the empty battery screen.

I went over and plugged my phone in and started my computer up etc (I plugged it into the mains and not the actual computer to charge it faster). Left the phone for an hour and someone texted me, and I picked the phone up and it felt really warm, and I mean, more warm than it normally is when it's being charged.