Jump to content



Photo

Notice: Harmful site blocked?

neowin help

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 30,992 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 October 2011 - 09:07

Sometimes we get reports about virus (web) scanners marking something on Neowin as a harmful or malicious website.

This almost always has to do with member signatures that are hosted on external websites. We also allow PHP generated signature images, and when they are hosted on flagged sites, a virus scanner will throw up an alert.

Remember that you can also choose to disable all signatures, it saves bandwidth, and pages load quicker when external content isn't loaded.

On any forum post, click the little x on the right, and you can either disable that persons signature, or all:

.SNAG-0016.png

You can re-enable all signatures from the My Settings page: http://www.neowin.ne...ea=ignoredusers


#2 Anthony T.

Anthony T.

    Neowinian

  • 1,042 posts
  • Joined: 31-December 03
  • Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
  • OS: Win 7

Posted 07 February 2012 - 03:00

This is a fantastic idea!!

#3 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • 5,719 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 07 February 2012 - 13:11

It's a feature that was introduced with the IPB 3.2 upgrade (If I'm not mistaken) which makes it much quicker and easier to disable signatures. I personally leave them enabled because they're an identifier for me along with the avatar of a user so I know who's posted.

#4 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • 3,793 posts
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Elementary OS
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 07 February 2012 - 13:14

Great! :)

#5 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,136 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 07 February 2012 - 13:17

Thankfully I have only seen these messages once or twice. However, it is nice to see something being done about it.

#6 vetPink Floyd

Pink Floyd

    Neowinian Senior

  • 13,254 posts
  • Joined: 06-January 03

Posted 08 February 2012 - 23:10

Personally, I disable them. Specially on users showing their speedtest 90mbps connection ;)

#7 +Kyle

Kyle

    aka Kyle

  • 902 posts
  • Joined: 12-February 06

Posted 19 March 2012 - 14:00

And now no one in this topic has a signature anymore. :p

haha. I love this feature.

#8 WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • 356 posts
  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 20 March 2012 - 22:43

Best thing for something like this would be to auto-disable signatures when a user is not signed in to the website, so sites like Google don't decide to give warnings about viewing the site. However, I've never seen this issue arise so it's not really a big deal.

#9 Farstrider

Farstrider

    The Clash

  • 6,311 posts
  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: Somerset West, Cape Town, SA
  • OS: Arch Linux

Posted 22 March 2012 - 00:53

Have to say it's a good feature, but that said, you get used to all the different sigs and without them things look weird.

#10 mquiny

mquiny

    Just an average guy.

  • 75 posts
  • Joined: 25-June 10

Posted 28 April 2012 - 11:52

Personally, I disable them. Specially on users showing their speedtest 90mbps connection ;)


Not to mention the people who show off their apparently amazing Pc's/Laptops - Intel core i7's, with 3.7GHz processor. 16gb ram and 2gb graphics card. Not to forget the 2TB hard-drives.

#11 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • 4,885 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 28 April 2012 - 11:53

Not to mention the people who show off their apparently amazing Pc's/Laptops - Intel core i7's, with 3.7GHz processor. 16gb ram and 2gb graphics card. Not to forget the 2TB hard-drives.

I'll take the hardware text only signatures over the flashing banner ad style signatures any day.

Also 16GiB isn't enough, 24GiB is enough - barely. VMware sucks memory like no other when running a few test boxes parallel ;>

#12 mquiny

mquiny

    Just an average guy.

  • 75 posts
  • Joined: 25-June 10

Posted 04 May 2012 - 00:35

I'll take the hardware text only signatures over the flashing banner ad style signatures any day.

Also 16GiB isn't enough, 24GiB is enough - barely. VMware sucks memory like no other when running a few test boxes parallel ;>


I prefer saving my band-sandwiches for something a little more productive.