Jump to content



Photo

Clean Install Windows 8 Professional with Media Center

win8

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Joni_78

Joni_78

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-April 04
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 19 August 2012 - 11:45

Quick guide on how to modify Windows 8 disc to allow clean install of Windows 8 Professional with Media Center.

I suggest using USB flash drive, it's much faster to install and you don't have to burn DVD's. Use Windows 7 USB tool.

1. Create folders C:\W8 and D:\Mount. Copy contents of your Windows 8 disc or ISO into C:\W8.
2. Run Command Prompt as Administrator "WIN+X".
3. Paste these commands one at a time and wait for the tasks to finish

Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\W8\sources\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\install.wim /Compress:Maximum

Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\install.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:C:\Mount

Dism /Image:C:\Mount /Get-TargetEditions

Dism /Image:C:\Mount /Set-Edition:ProfessionalWMC

Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\Mount /Commit

Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\W8\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 8 Pro with Media Center" /Compress:Maximum

Windows 8 Pro with Media Center is now in C:\W8. You can delete temporary install.wim and mount directory.


#2 OP Joni_78

Joni_78

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-April 04
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 20 August 2012 - 07:42

When was the option to always edit the first post removed?

#3 Steve Bruno

Steve Bruno

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-August 12

Posted 28 August 2012 - 19:59

Im sorry can you clarify what exactly you are doing here.

#4 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 28 August 2012 - 20:17

Umm...Media Center has it's own license so I don't think what you are doing is entirely legal.

#5 Steve Bruno

Steve Bruno

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-August 12

Posted 28 August 2012 - 20:19

you get media center if you upgrade from windows 7

#6 OP Joni_78

Joni_78

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-April 04
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:25

You can do a clean install of Pro with Media Center instead of a upgrade, you'll need the WMC key of course.

#7 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:33

He's showing how to create an ISO with it integrated, not how to bypass the licensing restrictions. It's just a tutorial on how to create an integrated backup media.

#8 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:39

you get media center if you upgrade from windows 7

Say again?

#9 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:41

Say again?


I believe the user was referring to the information out there on the web that states if a user purchases the Windows 8 upgrade that they will receive the ability to get a free key for Windows Media Center for Windows 8 until a specific deadline. I believe that deadline is stated as January 2013.

#10 hoskins12801

hoskins12801

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 12

Posted 01 September 2012 - 01:21

Hello I keep gettin error after 2nd input can u help????

C:\Windows\system32>Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\W8\sources\install.wi
m /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\install.wim /Compress:Maximum

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.2.9200.16384

Exporting image
[==========================100.0%==========================]
The operation completed successfully.

C:\Windows\system32>Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\install.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:D
:\Mount

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.2.9200.16384


Error: 0xc1420127

The specified image in the specified wim is already mounted for read/write acces
s.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log

also i dont understand the D:\Mount??

can u pm me

#11 OP Joni_78

Joni_78

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-April 04
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:15

Hello I keep gettin error after 2nd input can u help????

C:\Windows\system32>Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\W8\sources\install.wi
m /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\install.wim /Compress:Maximum

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.2.9200.16384

Exporting image
[==========================100.0%==========================]
The operation completed successfully.

C:\Windows\system32>Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\install.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:D
:\Mount

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.2.9200.16384


Error: 0xc1420127

The specified image in the specified wim is already mounted for read/write acces
s.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log

also i dont understand the D:\Mount??

can u pm me


D:\Mount mounts the image so it can be edited. I think you might have previously mounted it, try this

Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:D:\Mount /Discard

Then try again.

#12 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:33

I got my hands on a new SSD that I plan to install Win8 to once it's hit GA and I can actually buy it. So this could be a bit off topic but I figure the best way would be to disconnect my current HDD with Win7, leaving just the ssd and my other drives, install Win8 on it, then reconnect my win7 HDD back so I don't lose a few things I have on it (which I'll then move over to another location and format it for reuse as a new download hdd.

I'm doing this because I don't want to dual boot with Win7 etc. Anyone else have this sort of upgrade/install in mind?

#13 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:38

I believe the user was referring to the information out there on the web that states if a user purchases the Windows 8 upgrade that they will receive the ability to get a free key for Windows Media Center for Windows 8 until a specific deadline. I believe that deadline is stated as January 2013.

That makes more sense. I thought he was trying to say people could get a free entitlement to MCE, which would have my interest.

#14 +sanke1

sanke1

    Member

  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:48

This method is of no use till online purchasing Media Center upgrade key becomes possible. That is not before 26th Oct.

I have my AIO ready with itegrated drivers. :)

#15 hoskins12801

hoskins12801

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-September 12

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:58

D:\Mount mounts the image so it can be edited. I think you might have previously mounted it, try this

Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:D:\Mount /Discard

Then try again.

Nope nothing dso i have to do it on win 7 or can it be win 8???