Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Start menu and shutdown button trick

win8

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 alexappleton

alexappleton

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-August 12

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:11

Growing frustratingly tired of trying to click the start button in the bottom left corner with multiple monitors and RDP sessions in full screen I decided to do something about it. Figured the easiest way was to create a simple executable that simply sends keys (ctrl+esc) and pin it to the taskbar. I gave it the new fancy logo as the icon and it seems to work well. Following the same idea, I did the same thing to call the legacy shutdown box and pinned this to my start menu in metro. This is solving my two biggest annoyances with using the metro UI on the desktop so I thought I'd share.

See more here including the download links for the two executables: http://bit.ly/PJvsOR


#2 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:29

Very nice!

#3 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:29

Not bad!

http://www.neowin.ne...__fromsearch__1

#4 oliver182

oliver182

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 10
  • Location: Mexico
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Alcatel OneTouch Idol Ultra

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:34

Some feedback, change the icon, it doesn't look so good...

#5 OP alexappleton

alexappleton

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-August 12

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:39

Yeah, I don't like the shutdown icon either, but I'll sort it out later. Looking for a metro style icon, but when I make it transparent it doesn't look that great. Thanks for the feedback.

Also, I know some of you are thinking why can't I just hit the win key button for the start menu. Well I deal with a lot of servers, and sometimes I have to use keyboards directly attached to them. Most of the time these keyboards are whatever is lying around at the customers site that typically don't have a win key, or I am dealing with a pull out KVM tray which 9 times out of 10 doesn't have the win key.

#6 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:52

Very nice, thanks a lot, and yeah I'm not liking the Shutdown icon either lol, the Start Screen icon is nice though, how about using the Shutdown icon from the Metro Icon pack from: http://dakirby309.de...Icons-280724102 you could try asking the author for permission.

Also I would love it if there was a way to push the Start Screen icon to the very left corner of the superbar, is there a way to do this?

#7 StanP

StanP

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 27 August 2012 - 18:54

Nice apps, the only thing I would like to see added is a "Lock" selection in the choice menu of the Shutdown app. Other than that...both work well. Thanks

#8 OP alexappleton

alexappleton

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-August 12

Posted 27 August 2012 - 19:02

Very nice, thanks a lot, and yeah I'm not liking the Shutdown icon either lol, the Start Screen icon is nice though, how about using the Shutdown icon from the Metro Icon pack from: http://dakirby309.de...Icons-280724102 you could try asking the author for permission.


Thanks for the tip! Yeah, I'm not very good at the graphic design stuff so I'll contact this guy and see if he doesn't mind me using his icon.

#9 StanP

StanP

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 27 August 2012 - 19:05

Very nice, thanks a lot, and yeah I'm not liking the Shutdown icon either lol, the Start Screen icon is nice though, how about using the Shutdown icon from the Metro Icon pack from: http://dakirby309.de...Icons-280724102 you could try asking the author for permission.

Also I would love it if there was a way to push the Start Screen icon to the very left corner of the superbar, is there a way to do this?


The only way I have found would be to use the Quick Launch Toolbar and then place a shortcut for the Start app in the QL folder, same as I did with the Shutdown app.

Attached Images

  • ss2012.jpg


#10 shockz

shockz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 01
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 27 August 2012 - 19:09

ALT+F4 > Shutdown / Restart ?

#11 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 27 August 2012 - 19:14

The only way I have found would be to use the Quick Launch Toolbar and then place a shortcut for the Start app in the QL folder, same as I did with the Shutdown app.


Very nice setup there, looking good :) How exactly do you go about adding the Quick Launch toolbar? I no longer see an option to enable that?

#12 StanP

StanP

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 27 August 2012 - 19:19

Here you go....it's pretty easy and better than the default bar icons, mainly because you can add and remove what you want when you want, by just drag and drop.

http://www.eightforu...-8-a.html?ltr=Q

#13 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 27 August 2012 - 20:02

Here you go....it's pretty easy and better than the default bar icons, mainly because you can add and remove what you want when you want, by just drag and drop.

http://www.eightforu...-8-a.html?ltr=Q


Thanks StanP, it's a good method, but then the icons on taskbar look a little above the bottom edge of the screen like in your screenshot :), I didn't notice this before untill I tried this myself hehe, the only way to put them back where they are supposed to be is by choosing "Small Icons" on the Quick Launch bar options, but then again the Start icon looks weird being so small lol, I wonder if there's a way to fix this.

#14 StanP

StanP

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 27 August 2012 - 20:10

These are the icons I used http://browse.devian... Icons#/d4n4w3q

I think if you replace the icon of the shortcut for the start button with the one from this set it will shrink down and look ok. Try it...got nothing to loose.

#15 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 27 August 2012 - 20:11

This is a nice idea for RDP sessions.