Jump to content



Photo

Hosts entries to block ads in apps

win8

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ambiance

ambiance

    Identity Thief

  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Posted 11 November 2012 - 01:38

I already use hosts entries from here, but not all ads are blocked. Does anyone have any I can add to it or a website that does?


#2 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 11 November 2012 - 01:40

http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

Enjoy. Up to Date. Comprehensive. Works wonders for me.

Edited by ArialBlue, 11 November 2012 - 01:41.


#3 azspeedbullet

azspeedbullet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 12

Posted 11 November 2012 - 01:43

you might need a program like wireshark to see where the ads https requests is coming from, then plug that address into the host file

#4 OP ambiance

ambiance

    Identity Thief

  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:35

you might need a program like wireshark to see where the ads https requests is coming from, then plug that address into the host file


Of course the program isn't compatible with Windows 8. WinPcap will not install.

http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

Enjoy. Up to Date. Comprehensive. Works wonders for me.


Thanks. It doesn't block the solitaire ads, but I'll try it instead of what I've been using.

#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 November 2012 - 14:30

Of course the program isn't compatible with Windows 8. WinPcap will not install.

And did you try and set the compatibility mode to 7 for the winpcap installer? ;) This has been known since first preview versions of win8 came out.

http://blogs.msdn.co...dows-8-rtm.aspx

Or you could just download the winpcap installer on its own - no need to extract it from the install

http://www.winpcap.o...all/default.htm

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 11 November 2012 - 15:41

Thanks. It doesn't block the solitaire ads, but I'll try it instead of what I've been using.


Some ads might be offline too, just built into the app, I know a few on WP are like that, iirc AdDuplex on WP are impossible to block, I tried all-sorts in DD-WRT URL blocking and keyword blocking and failed

#7 OP ambiance

ambiance

    Identity Thief

  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Posted 11 November 2012 - 18:10

And did you try and set the compatibility mode to 7 for the winpcap installer? ;) This has been known since first preview versions of win8 came out.

http://blogs.msdn.co...dows-8-rtm.aspx

Or you could just download the winpcap installer on its own - no need to extract it from the install

http://www.winpcap.o...all/default.htm


I got it working and can't make sense of it. The only success I had was disabling the DNS Client and using the MVPS Hosts file. It stopped the advertising, but broke the app.

#8 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 11 November 2012 - 18:17

Centralizing your content filtering with an edge firewall for the win, Host's file only works with full domains and not paths and you cant use wildcards etc

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 November 2012 - 23:04

"I got it working and can't make sense of it.

Look for what dns queries your box does after you flush your local dns with ipconfig /flushdns

This will tell you what domains it is pulling ads from - problem is as mentioned if they pull them from www.domainyouneed.com/ads/something -- then your out of luck trying to use host files.

you want to know my foolproof solution to something with too many ads for my tastes -- its 100% always effective, never fails - works every time!!! Use a different app ;) One that does not use ads! Or just buy the damn thing if really rocks and can not find alternative.

#10 OP ambiance

ambiance

    Identity Thief

  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Posted 12 November 2012 - 04:00

Look for what dns queries your box does after you flush your local dns with ipconfig /flushdns

This will tell you what domains it is pulling ads from - problem is as mentioned if they pull them from www.domainyouneed.com/ads/something -- then your out of luck trying to use host files.

you want to know my foolproof solution to something with too many ads for my tastes -- its 100% always effective, never fails - works every time!!! Use a different app ;) One that does not use ads! Or just buy the damn thing if really rocks and can not find alternative.


Thanks, I was able to find the answer when I filtered for DNS queries. There was way too much going on before to know what belonged to what and would have taken a long time to figure it out. I also tend to avoid software like you mentioned, but they have sucked me in with solitaire and only have ads when you enter the daily challenge. Not anymore.